AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Chasethewind
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎12-04-2008
Message 1 of 8 (216 Views)

Zoom to extents of Shapefile

216 Views, 7 Replies
09-19-2013 07:34 AM

Civil3d 2012

 

If you attach a shapefile through "Connect to Data" and try to zoom to extents by right clicking on the shapefile under "Task Pane" it zooms to a different location.  The shapefile and drawing PRJ is in LL84.  It works in Civil3D2010 but not in 11 or 12.  I have Service pack 3 installed.  Why?

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,935
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 8 (190 Views)

Re: Zoom to extents of Shapefile

09-19-2013 03:31 PM in reply to: Chasethewind

Is ti the same shp file in 2010 or a newer version/different shp file?

 

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Distinguished Contributor
Chasethewind
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎12-04-2008
Message 3 of 8 (186 Views)

Re: Zoom to extents of Shapefile

09-19-2013 04:10 PM in reply to: Chasethewind

I created the shapefile in C3D2012 and it will not zoom to the correct location.  I created a shapefile with 2 other programs, imported it into C3d2012 and it will not zoom correctly.  C3D2010 allows you to zoom to it though.  Hope this clairifies.  This result is the same for one other machine.  I have not tested it on any others.

Valued Mentor
parkr4st
Posts: 421
Registered: ‎03-24-2004
Message 4 of 8 (167 Views)

Re: Zoom to extents of Shapefile

09-20-2013 03:27 AM in reply to: Chasethewind

Could you separate zooming from location?  zoom finds the max and min x & y of the data and brackets the data accordingly for display may have little to do with location.  Location is as in the data coming to the proper world coordinate on your map.  Are you getting a zoom to the data but is it on the grid at the wrong location?  or no zoom at all?

 

 

dave

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,935
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 8 (161 Views)

Re: Zoom to extents of Shapefile

09-20-2013 04:24 AM in reply to: Chasethewind

If you mapimport the shp file into a new blank dwg then zoom extends does it display OK? Sounds like when you created the shp file you had something out in outerspace or at coordinates 0,0.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Distinguished Contributor
Chasethewind
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎12-04-2008
Message 6 of 8 (120 Views)

Re: Zoom to extents of Shapefile

09-24-2013 02:20 PM in reply to: Chasethewind

If I use the regular zoom to extents command it will center the shapefile.  If I use the zoom to shapefile extents it will zoom WAY out.  Wouldn't the regular zoom to extents command behave the same way if something was out in space?

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,893
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 7 of 8 (116 Views)

Re: Zoom to extents of Shapefile

09-24-2013 02:54 PM in reply to: Chasethewind

Hi,

 

>> Wouldn't the regular zoom to extents command behave the same way if something was out in space?

No, it does not. ZOOM EXTENTS calculated the boundary of the displayed objects ... while the ZOOM to SHP-Limits uses the SHP-internal stored limits, independent of any graphical objects filling that limits or not. And I don't know any way within Map3D to recalculate/refresh that stored value (except of recreating the complete SHP using MAPIMPORT and then MAPEXPORT).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Mentor
parkr4st
Posts: 421
Registered: ‎03-24-2004
Message 8 of 8 (104 Views)

Re: Zoom to extents of Shapefile

09-25-2013 03:34 AM in reply to: Chasethewind

if an object was deleted from the shp the bounds still holds to the original extent of the shp data.  maybe?

 

rc in task manager   view meta data and select the shp to see the bounds info of the data.

 

follow Alfreds map import export to build a new shp which should then have the new bounds of your data

 

dave

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community