AutoCAD Map 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Map 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Map 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

So slow I want to puke...

11 REPLIES 11
SOLVED
Message 1 of 12
LyleHardin
2323 Views, 11 Replies

So slow I want to puke...

I'm just getting into MAP3D. After attaching just a couple .shp files (even limiting the area with a rectangle) everything is so slow I can't even remember what I was doing by the time MAP3D becomes responsive again. Pans, zooms, moving things, every click I make takes several seconds or up to a minute to ALIGN something. New drawings with no MAP objects in them work fine. Surely something is not right. You guys don't actually work like this... Do you? I've not seen many posts about being slow, so I assume there's something working against me here. 

MAP 3D 2015. Data files are on network (which is fast). I have a good machine (Xeon 3.2 Ghz, 24 Gig RAM, Solid State HD, AMD FirePro W7000 video)

What can I try to speed things up?

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12

Hi,

>> After attaching just a couple .shp files

How many, 2, 20, 200?

>> even limiting the area with a rectangle

results in how many point-/line-/polygonal objects?

Do you have any labeling active?

Have you enabled or disabled the hardware-acceleration?

What visual style have you set active? "2D Wireframe" or another one?

Have you cleaned your cache directory (look to command _MAPOPTIONS ==> tab "System" ==> "Clear Cache")

Is there any chance to get the data to try to reproduce your performance issue?

- alfred -

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at ... blog.hollaus.at ... CDay 2024
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(not an Autodesk consultant)
Message 3 of 12