AutoCAD Map 3D General

Reply
Valued Contributor
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎03-27-2007
Message 1 of 6 (156 Views)
Accepted Solution

Shading A Styled Object

156 Views, 5 Replies
07-25-2012 11:12 AM

Okay I'm new to map so pardon me if this question is too elementary. I used civil 3d and autocad map 2010 to connect to a soils data .shp file provided by my state. Then i created a style using filters and rules to identify the various soil symbols provided in the data file. This resulted in a multicolored map shading the various soil types. The shaded polygons and areas list as mapbulkobject and they do not obey any plot style table or color table. When I plot the map Its too bold and I want to screen all the colors back about 75% so they will not over run my site entities. Does anyone know how I can get those screened back without saving the layer out to a different file and making them autocad entities? Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,512
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 6 (155 Views)

Re: Shading A Styled Object

07-25-2012 11:49 AM in reply to: WIZNICKARTS

Hi,

 

why not setting the colors to lighter or adding some transparency (for the fillings) in the style-editor for the spatial objects?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎03-27-2007
Message 3 of 6 (153 Views)

Re: Shading A Styled Object

07-25-2012 12:35 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

I tried that but the amount of transparency has no bearing on the way it plots. Even though the display on the screen is very light the plot is still coming out bold.

 

R.T.

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,512
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 6 (149 Views)

Re: Shading A Styled Object

07-25-2012 01:24 PM in reply to: WIZNICKARTS

Hi,

 

>> the amount of transparency has no bearing on the way it plots

And you have set MAPPLOTTRANSPARENCY to 1?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎03-27-2007
Message 5 of 6 (147 Views)

Re: Shading A Styled Object

07-25-2012 01:29 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

That done the trick and i thank you very much sir. Happy days with my shaded plot.....lol.

 

Thanks'

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,512
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 6 (143 Views)

Re: Shading A Styled Object

07-25-2012 01:32 PM in reply to: WIZNICKARTS

Hi,

 

just to make sure: don't forget to set the variable back to 0 if you don't need transparency!

 

The quality of the output is quite better when set to 0 (as then the geomtry is sent as vectors and not rastered) and the size of the plot-data is less with sysvar set to 0 (very very large dataamount with 1 in some situations).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community