AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
jwest
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 1 of 10 (256 Views)

SHP File

256 Views, 9 Replies
03-07-2012 06:20 AM

When importing a shp file for street names into my map Map 3D see's it as a polygon. When I edit it to text it has 4 street names in the shape of a polygon. Is there any way to convert this shape to show only one street name?

Distinguished Contributor
nwray
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎03-10-2008
Message 2 of 10 (220 Views)

Re: SHP File

03-08-2012 08:10 AM in reply to: jwest

Could you post a portion of the file so I could take a look at it?

 

Norm

Active Member
jwest
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 3 of 10 (202 Views)

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 04:15 AM in reply to: jwest

Here is the shape file i was asking about. Thanks for the help.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,932
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 10 (200 Views)

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 04:26 AM in reply to: jwest

What coomand are you using to create the text? I used map annonation blocks and only get one label per polygon.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Member
jwest
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 5 of 10 (197 Views)

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 04:29 AM in reply to: jwest

Im new to map, i just pulled it in as a shape file. Should i do something diffrent?

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,932
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 10 (195 Views)

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 04:36 AM in reply to: jwest

jwest wrote:

Im new to map, i just pulled it in as a shape file. Should i do something diffrent?



Pulled it in? HOW, what command did you use? Mapimport, drag and drop from windows explorer, dataconnect or what?  How do you know it has 4 streetnames? What are you using for creating the text lables?

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Member
jwest
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 7 of 10 (189 Views)

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 05:22 AM in reply to: jwest

Dataconnect.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,932
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 10 (185 Views)

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 05:33 AM in reply to: jwest

I'm only getting one label with dataconnect. (2011 version)

 

streeNames.png

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Contributor
Nero1960
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-25-2010
Message 9 of 10 (182 Views)

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 05:45 AM in reply to: jwest
Spoiler
 

Hi JWest...

opened your shapefile in ArcInfo and it is a polygon and there are street names under the field "TextString"

 

opened Map 3D and brought the shapefile

I connected to the shapefile...then changed the style to show just the text...in the Task pane click on Style

then see if you can change the properties to mimic my attachments...

 

hope this helps...

 

 

GO Texans!!!
Active Member
jwest
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 10 of 10 (153 Views)

Re: SHP File

03-09-2012 08:03 AM in reply to: jwest

Thanks NERO that worked great.....

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community