AutoCAD Map 3D General

Reply
Valued Contributor
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 1 of 4 (329 Views)
Accepted Solution

Queries

329 Views, 3 Replies
09-14-2012 12:03 PM

Although I use Civil 3d 2013, I have never used the map 3d program. I have GIS data and need to perform queries but I can't seem to figure out how to get a query to work.

I have the drawing open and the data is displayed. On the Task Pane I right click on "Current Query" and choose "Define". On the "Define Query of Attached drawing" dialog under "Query Type" I want pick "Data" which opens the "Data Condition" dialog. At this point you can choose Object Class, Object Properties, Database Link, Object Data or attribute. When I pick any of these options I get a "No Tables Found" message at the bottom of the dialog box (with the exception of Attribute). I'm therefore left with nothing to pick for the Object Data Fields.

Am I approaching this task the corrrect way? If so, what could be causing this to occur. If I'm going about it the wrong way, could someone please point me in the right direction.

 

Thanks very much

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,495
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 4 (323 Views)

Re: Queries

09-14-2012 12:20 PM in reply to: DrWileFTracer

You can't query the current drawing (well, you could, but it's an undocumented feature, so we pass through).

1] in an empty drawing, type in _ADEDRAWINGS and attach your DWG

2] now issue _ADEQUERY and perform a "draw" query as you want, sir. 

Valued Mentor
Posts: 376
Registered: ‎03-24-2004
Message 3 of 4 (297 Views)

Re: Queries

09-17-2012 02:56 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

is the GIS data connected? ie shp or sdf?  if so, display manager tab, right click the layer and select  query to filter data, enter the query and OK.  the query result will show on the map.  if you want to use that result later in other maps on DM tab, right click the layer and Save Layer, name and save it.  drop and drag the .layer file into a map when needed.

 

dave

 

 

Valued Contributor
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 4 of 4 (289 Views)

Re: Queries

09-17-2012 06:31 AM in reply to: DrWileFTracer

That helped. Problem solved.

 

Thanks very much

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community