AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
mdrioux
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-05-2013
Message 1 of 6 (218 Views)
Accepted Solution

Multiple association

218 Views, 5 Replies
11-05-2013 11:09 AM

Hi, I have problem to solve, which involve many differents question.

I want to do a simple thing : drap a ortho-photo on surface generated from contour line.

 

First thing, I need the basic terrain. I did import my contour line in a new draw, using the import map feature. I then saved the draw under the name " topo ". At this point, the contour line are 2D breakline with no elevation.

I then opened a new draw to which I did associate my draw " topo ". Then I used a querry to modify the elevation of the line using the attribute " contour " in my table, thus resulting in my breakline to become 3-D. It works fine. Then I save the new draw as " 3D_Topo ". I then get a warning :

" The association between objects interogated in the current drawing and associated will be deleted once the current document of the draw is closed " (I made the translation from french to english, in french it stated like this :  " L'association entre des objets interrogés dans des dessins courants et associés sera supprimée une fois le fichier de dessin courant fermé. " ).

 

Well question #1 : What does this warning mean / imply ?

 

Then, I have those .ecw files as ortho photo which I want to import. So I use the fonction " connect " with raster image, then I select my file, then I " add to draw ".... then something very strange happens.

 

Sometime, the image appears correctly...and some other times I get nothing and I get this " disconnected " message in the task pane ..and no matter how many time I actually connect again the .ecw files, it will not happen in the draw ! Then I simply close the draw, start map 3D again, then I do the exact same thing, and sometime it works, sometime it doesn't... am confused here.. any clues?

 

Question #2 : any clue on why the .ecw files sometime works, sometime doesn't?

 

Now, let's assume I finaly made it to connect correctly and that Map3d didn't crash whilst I was doing it (because I don't know for you, but here, it does happens quit often), I now have (as shows in the picture I attached) two thing. A surface made (well, I went back in the civil 3-D module to make the actual surface from the breakline definition) with the contour line and a imported image. I now want to drap the image on my surface! So I use the option " drap " which is in the surfaces option (in the ribbon surface tools)... well it looks nice since it propose me to use the surface I made up with the controu line as the base and the imported .ecw files as the file to be draped upon. So I simply do that and.... well...nothing happens! My image isn't draped at all, it stays there, and am confused, where did I go wrong?

 

Question #3 : How should I proceed to actually drap my image over my surface ?

 

Question #4 : Considering I made it to drap the surface, how can I save this new draw independatly of the attached other draw or databse?

 

Thanks alot for the help!!

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,603
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 6 (191 Views)

Re: Multiple association

11-05-2013 01:52 PM in reply to: mdrioux

mdrioux wrote:
question #1 : What does this warning mean / imply ?


 It means that, after the query, you should detach the TOPO drawing.


mdrioux wrote:
Question #2 : any clue on why the .ecw files sometime works, sometime doesn't?

 No clues, I'm sorry.


mdrioux wrote:
Question #3 : How should I proceed to actually drap my image over my surface ?


 I guess you should click on the 3D button near the "Vertical Exaggeration" control.


mdrioux wrote

Question #4 : Considering I made it to drap the surface, how can I save this new draw independatly of the attached other draw or databse?


 After detaching the TOPO drawing, save all "as" another name.

Member
mdrioux
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-05-2013
Message 3 of 6 (172 Views)

Re: Multiple association

11-06-2013 06:05 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Hi, thanks for the reply!

When you say detach the draw (in question #1) you mean from the task pane ? (just making sure)..

 

On question #3, you say that I should click on the 3D button near the "Vertical Exaggeration" control.

 

I am not quite sure about where this 3D button might be. Are you talking about the surface property (implying that this is a simple problem with the display and that my draping did work?). 

Because I don't think it's a simple mather of display here.. I think the raster image I imported really don't drap itself on my surface!

If this is not what you are telling me, I am sorry I do not understand exactly what you are pointing me (it might be pretty obvious but I am not that good with Civil 3D so.. sorry for being slow ! :smileysad: )

 

I also have another question, which arose lately. I realised that, after I create my surface from the 3D contour line (or break line) these line still are displayed in background. I tryed to " delete " them but as I expected the surface disapears as well (I guess since it's definition are gone..it's logical). But is there a way to get rid of those line once my surface is made? I mean, they are no longer usefull and they drag power for nothing.

 

Thanks alot for your support !

 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,603
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 4 of 6 (163 Views)

Re: Multiple association

11-06-2013 07:58 AM in reply to: mdrioux

You attach/detach the TOPO drawing by means of the same _ADEDRAWINGS command.


Even if this is not a Civil forum, you could get rid of unwanted contours as follows:


1] export your C3D surface with _LANDXMLOUT

2] open a blank drawing
3] _LANDXMLIN

 

 

Member
mdrioux
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-05-2013
Message 5 of 6 (156 Views)

Re: Multiple association

11-06-2013 08:39 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Oh, nice trick! Worked fine ! Thanks :smileyhappy:

 

I will ask the question about draping in the civil 3d section! Thanks for you help, very appreciated!

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,603
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 6 of 6 (138 Views)

Re: Multiple association

11-07-2013 12:19 AM in reply to: mdrioux

mdrioux wrote: 

I will ask the question about draping in the civil 3d section!


You could also have a look at this, Monsieur.

The 3D toolbar I was talkin' about is above the caption:
"La barra di stato di AutoCAD Map 3D, evidenziata in giallo"

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community