AutoCAD Map 3D General

Reply
Contributor
nsummitt
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-02-2010
Message 1 of 7 (340 Views)

Map Features Unselectable

340 Views, 6 Replies
09-04-2012 01:10 PM

When I use quick select, I can see that there are map features listed in my drawings.  When I try to select these features it either says they have been selected but they aren't actually selected, or the autocad will crash forcing me to start over.  How can I removed these features (which do not actually appear in the drawing) from the drawing.  So many of my files seem to have this problem.  

 

-N

Contributor
nsummitt
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-02-2010
Message 2 of 7 (339 Views)

Re: Map Features Unselectable

09-04-2012 01:11 PM in reply to: nsummitt

btw, I am using Map 2010 32bit.  I can't deny there are days where I want to go back to '08 standard.  I have been very disappointed in Map.  It seems to offer a lot but really doesn't seem to handle all that it says it can.

Mentor
tjmapper
Posts: 229
Registered: ‎03-25-2008
Message 3 of 7 (314 Views)

Re: Map Features Unselectable

09-05-2012 09:53 AM in reply to: nsummitt

What kind of file are you connected too?

 

Are your shapes Polygons, points, or lines?

Member
Groszg
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-16-2009
Message 4 of 7 (293 Views)

Re: Map Features Unselectable

09-06-2012 05:24 AM in reply to: nsummitt

Hi,

 

Check the task pane if there are any layers (feature classes) present in it (If it's turned off type mapwspace in the command line then press enter twice).

If there are no feature classes there, check the connect to data dialog (Task Pane > Data > Connect to data). If there are map features connected to your drawing, you should see them there. Disconnect, then delete the connections, save the drawing and you should be alright from there.

 

If this happens every time you start a drawing -create a new drawing with the new command-, then it should be the dwt, that you choose when creating a new drawing. Open the dwt and do the same to it.

 

Hope this helps, G

Contributor
nsummitt
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-02-2010
Message 5 of 7 (263 Views)

Re: Map Features Unselectable

09-12-2012 04:05 AM in reply to: tjmapper
I am not connected to any features... that is what is odd. nat
Contributor
nsummitt
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-02-2010
Message 6 of 7 (263 Views)

Re: Map Features Unselectable

09-12-2012 04:05 AM in reply to: Groszg
I have done all those steps. Another point I should make is that the number of map features is usually equal to the number of items not selected that quick select warns me about before opening. nat
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,921
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 7 (248 Views)

Re: Map Features Unselectable

09-12-2012 02:57 PM in reply to: nsummitt

Hasve you tried the _purge command and purge regapps?

 

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community