AutoCAD Map 3D General

Reply
New Member
lveit
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-24-2004
Message 1 of 8 (2,617 Views)
Accepted Solution

Map 2012 - install 32 bit on 64 bit

2617 Views, 7 Replies
11-28-2011 12:33 PM

Is it possible to install the 32-bit version of Map 2012 on the 64-bit version of Windows 7?  We are using custom programs that only work in 32-bit.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 8 (2,616 Views)

Re: Map 2012 - install 32 bit on 64 bit

11-28-2011 12:34 PM in reply to: lveit

Hi,

 

sorry the simple answer is NO.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mentor
grimline
Posts: 207
Registered: ‎11-16-2003
Message 3 of 8 (2,605 Views)

Re: Map 2012 - install 32 bit on 64 bit

11-28-2011 09:40 PM in reply to: lveit

YES.

 

That is if you configure your 64 bit computer as a "dual boot" system windows 7 with 32 bit Vista or XP. "See here"

Autodesk AutoCAD Map 3D 2015
Windows 7 Professional
Service Pack 1
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4430 CPU @ 3.00 GHz
8.00 GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 8 (2,596 Views)

Re: Map 2012 - install 32 bit on 64 bit

11-28-2011 10:39 PM in reply to: grimline

Hi grimline,

 

>> YES [...]

And then you can start the pc with Win7x64 and run Map3Dx32?

 

I can imagine how the installation of Map3D under WinXPx32 will run, that's ok. But if you start then Win7x64 I can not imagine how Map3D would be runable as there are no registry-entries, not the correct paths, ...?
Could you describe how the installation should be done that this could work?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,577
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 5 of 8 (2,595 Views)

Re: Map 2012 - install 32 bit on 64 bit

11-28-2011 10:54 PM in reply to: lveit

lveit wrote:

Is it possible to install the 32-bit version of Map 2012 on the 64-bit version of Windows 7?


Yes you can, in this environment, but only having a Win7 Pro or higher.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 8 (2,592 Views)

Re: Map 2012 - install 32 bit on 64 bit

11-29-2011 12:40 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Hi,

 

>> Yes you can, in this environment

OK, yes ... VirtualXXX can run Map3Dx32 when the (Guest)OS for this VirtualXXX is a 32bit-OS. And once more yes, ... it's a great peace of software and I often need VMWare to do some testing for development (as it's easy to siimulate a lot of different environments without needing to setup a pc).

 

But for 10hours work a day I never would use any VirtualXXX as everything emulated is slower than the original, especially for AutoCAD the graphicsperformance is not the same as running on a performance-gc in the main-pc.

 

My question was (and I think also the question of the TO) Is there a way to run Map3Dx32 on an oSx64 (and that answer imho is NO).

 

Anyway thank you for thinking on VirtualXXX as that may help some people :smileywink:

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
tomhurns
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎07-21-2010
Message 7 of 8 (1,349 Views)

Re: Map 2012 - install 32 bit on 64 bit

11-28-2012 02:57 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Guys, trust me, the virtual solution is not viable for CAD work. I'm using 32bit AutoCAD on 64bit Windows day in day out, works fine. You do have to use a little utility to get it working though, and it costs a few bucks, but honestly it saved me a lot of headache and everything just works as before. It's called the Longbow Converter, search for it online.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 8 of 8 (1,319 Views)

Re: Map 2012 - install 32 bit on 64 bit

11-30-2012 02:16 AM in reply to: tomhurns

Hi,

 

>> It's called the Longbow Converter, search for it online

Yes, it's an option, but: are you sure that is legal?

If I read the license-agreement for AutoCAD (or any legacy rules for software, whatever source) no one is allowed to modify files from the vendor. What Longbow Converter does (as far as I understand it): it modifies the installation-script (that may be the allowed task), and it exchanges files (from 64bit to 32bit) ==> that is imho the critical part now.

 

If you have asked Autodesk if you are allowed to modify these files, then everything is ok (and let us know that also) :smileywink:

Not that I say "it's forbidden", but I would first ask before doing that!

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community