AutoCAD Map 3D General

Reply
Contributor
Peter_NDNG
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
Message 1 of 15 (589 Views)

MAPEXPORT Xref

589 Views, 14 Replies
02-22-2012 09:37 AM

I'm the GIS manager for a state agency, and until now we have been importing our .dwg files into ArcGIS 10 and using a spatial adjust to georeference the drawings and then push them out to our web mapper.  Recently I've decided to give a try working with the data in it's native environment and they managed to move a Map3D license that wasn't getting used over to me.  So far I have been able to use the rubber sheet tool to georeference the files after they have been loaded as Xrefs that are overlays.  We're doing it this way so that if our engineers or architects update the asbuilt data the changes will automatically show up in Map3D.

 

The issue I'm having now is using MAPEXPORT to convert the georeferenced xref .dwgs to a shapefile so we can push that data up to ArcGIS server.  When I try to export the data I get an AutoCAD Map Warning "No entity to Export".  I've selected the data I want under the Data tab and have the Object type selected as Line.  The only time this doesn't give me an error is when I have the Object Type set to Point, and when I open that file in ArcMap there is only a single point.  Is it possible to export a group of xrefs to a .shp file? and if so how?  If this isn't possible is there a way to move all the xrefs into a single .dwg and then export that?

 

Ultimately  my goal is to have this process scripted so that daily, if changes are made, the data will be exported and pushed up to our server so that the web mapper will have the most up to date asbuilt data.

 

Thanks for the help in advance.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,578
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 15 (583 Views)

Re: MAPEXPORT Xref

02-22-2012 11:26 AM in reply to: Peter_NDNG

If you wanna _MAPEXPORT any XREF content, you should "melt" it in your main drawing, so look for the 'BIND' sub-option of the _XREF command, sir. 

Contributor
Peter_NDNG
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
Message 3 of 15 (578 Views)

Re: MAPEXPORT Xref

02-22-2012 12:03 PM in reply to: antoniovinci

Thanks for the help, but I'm still getting the "No entity to Export" error.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,578
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 4 of 15 (570 Views)

Re: MAPEXPORT Xref

02-22-2012 01:48 PM in reply to: Peter_NDNG

After binding that XREF, what happens if you _LIST a linear or polygonal entity? 

Contributor
Peter_NDNG
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
Message 5 of 15 (565 Views)

Re: MAPEXPORT Xref

02-22-2012 02:04 PM in reply to: antoniovinci

I get this ouput (note: point X and Y gave actual coordinates, but I blocked them out)

 

BLOCK REFERENCE  Layer: "0"
                            Space: Model space
                   Handle = 5b5
       Block Name: "030 Bsmnt & 1st Floor Current ASBLT"
                at point, X=***********  Y=************  Z=   0.0000
   X scale factor:    0.0255
   Y scale factor:    0.0255
   rotation angle:     31
   Z scale factor:    0.0255
  Scale uniformly: No
  Allow exploding: Yes

                  BLOCK REFERENCE  Layer: "0"
                            Space: Model space
                   Handle = 176a5
       Block Name: "040 current asblt"
                at point, X=***********  Y=************  Z=   0.0000
   X scale factor:    0.0254
   Y scale factor:    0.0254
   rotation angle:     31
Press ENTER to continue:
   Z scale factor:    0.0254
  Scale uniformly: No
  Allow exploding: Yes

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,922
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 15 (562 Views)

Re: MAPEXPORT Xref

02-22-2012 03:23 PM in reply to: Peter_NDNG

You need to explode the bind xref which will turn it back into lines, polygons, points etc. However that defeats the purpose of using xref's.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 7 of 15 (543 Views)

Re: MAPEXPORT Xref

02-23-2012 05:17 PM in reply to: Peter_NDNG

You might look at the CIty of Aurora, Colorado's requirements - they actually require a GIS submittal with all new land development.  The City specifically enumerates the coordinates, data parameters, etc that are manditory for you to move forward in the development process.

 

As engineers, we're using more & more "real world" state plane based coordinates with our drawings due to the use of GPS surveys - the days of arbitrary 10,000; 10,000 coordinates are dwindling.  Might be easier to have us provide what you need as "source driven."  A submittal for a Quick-Service Restaurant is what updated my skills from the old ArcCAD platform to Map...

 

Besides, stirring interest/demand for Map keeps folks like Murph & me busy..... :smileywink:

 

Just another $.02....

 

Todd Hepworth, P.E.


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
Contributor
Peter_NDNG
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
Message 8 of 15 (468 Views)

Re: MAPEXPORT Xref

03-30-2012 08:20 AM in reply to: Murph

I've been trying to bind my xrefs for a while and hunting for answers, because I keep getting this error, "Error: At least one of the specified xrefs failed to bind for an unknown reason."  And, MURPH I need to do this so I can get all our drawings out in ArcServer and to the guys at our installations via our web mapper.

Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 9 of 15 (466 Views)

Re: MAPEXPORT Xref

03-30-2012 08:30 AM in reply to: Peter_NDNG

Then, I'd start with the options in etransmit  - expand out the drawing name for what you're etransmitting, expand "external references" and enable only one reference at a time to see what's causing the error.  Then see if auditing/purging the problem drawing lets you proceed.

 

Best of Luck!


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,922
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 10 of 15 (454 Views)

Re: MAPEXPORT Xref

03-30-2012 03:10 PM in reply to: Peter_NDNG

I would forget abouty the xref altogether. Use the Map DWG Attach commands and query the other dwgs into you project dwg. Then export to shp format.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community