AutoCAD Map 3D General

Reply
Active Contributor
Jfactory
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-06-2013
Message 1 of 4 (425 Views)
Accepted Solution

Looking for help importing Ascii points

425 Views, 3 Replies
02-27-2013 01:41 PM

Sitka 1/3 arc-second DEM is the page for the source of the .asc file.

 

I downloaded the rather large (190 mb) zipped file of a large ASCII file with a few extra things (readme, metadata, report)

 

I followed this how-to document.

 

And I get the error message "Cannot set the column 'Name'. The value violates the MaxLength limit of this column." And then nothing at all happens.  No data imported.

 

Also, if I can't find the coordinates they assigned to the Ascii and I choose one I always use for this area, could that be the problem?

 

And I'l attach a photo of the 'preview' screen before I get before the error message.

 

Thank you!

 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,578
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 4 (412 Views)

Re: Looking for help importing Ascii points

02-27-2013 02:01 PM in reply to: Jfactory

A DEM is not a XYZ file, it's a 3D model in Ascii format: I fear you won't load in Map, 'cause this is a Civil feature, sir.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,867
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 3 of 4 (403 Views)

Re: Looking for help importing Ascii points

02-27-2013 02:48 PM in reply to: Jfactory

Hi,

 

already mentioned by Antoniovinci, you can't import that as points. But I would ask next: what do you want to do with that very large amout of raster-points?

What you can do with Map3D is to display it as raster-dem using command _MAPCONNECT, then choose the provider for raster on the left side, afterwards chose the file on the right side....gives this result:

 

2013-02-27 23-46-51.png

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
Jfactory
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-06-2013
Message 4 of 4 (394 Views)

Re: Looking for help importing Ascii points

02-27-2013 03:39 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Wow thank you very much!  I haven't made mine to look like yours but I'll do some experimenting :smileyhappy:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community