AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
mkl1987
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 1 of 7 (164 Views)

LAS points

164 Views, 6 Replies
11-29-2012 04:57 AM

Good moorning:

 

I´m working whit a LAS points draw an i want cut only a little of space in my draw.

i have 500 points in this format and only i need 100.

Somebody can tell me how can i do that? I want delete some LAS points of my draw

 

Thank you very much for your colaboration

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,600
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 7 (162 Views)

Re: LAS points

11-29-2012 05:48 AM in reply to: mkl1987


mkl1987 wrote:

i have 500 points in this format and only i need 100.


Sir, a .LAS file contains millions of points, not only 0.5k...

Member
mkl1987
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 3 of 7 (135 Views)

Re: LAS points

11-30-2012 06:00 AM in reply to: mkl1987

thank you very much but i knew the LAS files have a millions of points, the 0.5K points was only example.

Do you know how can i select and cut only a freatured area?

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,600
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 4 of 7 (132 Views)

Re: LAS points

11-30-2012 07:18 AM in reply to: mkl1987

Well, I guess you can't crop a .LAS file in Autodesk environment, while it's possible with opensource software.

A clever workaround would be the following:

  1. download a trial version of Autocad Civil3D  
  2. import and index your point cloud
  3. create a surface based on it
  4. add a "cutting" boundary to that surface.

    You'll get no cropped .LAS file, but better than nothing, sir.
Valued Contributor
rmacan
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎12-19-2005
Message 5 of 7 (122 Views)

Re: LAS points

11-30-2012 01:31 PM in reply to: antoniovinci

I was just working on a Lidar file earlier today in MAP 2012 and noticed that there was a command to do a Spatial Filter when indexing the file.  Unfortunately, it's another function of MAP that doesn't work very well.  I kept getting error messages and gave up on trying to do a location filter.

Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 482
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 6 of 7 (118 Views)

Re: LAS points

11-30-2012 03:27 PM in reply to: mkl1987

If you were to consider third party software, MapWorks Surfaces contains a Mass Points Processor that will let you select multiple LAS files and a bounding object or rectangle.  If a LAS file hits outside the boundary it's ignored completely (for speed).

Member
mkl1987
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-29-2012
Message 7 of 7 (97 Views)

Re: LAS points

12-03-2012 04:19 AM in reply to: mkl1987

I tried your sistems and i got my objetive whit Global Mapper whit autocad map 3D was imposible.

 

Thank you very much to everybody for help me

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community