AutoCAD Map 3D General

Reply
Active Contributor
tmblackflag
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎07-20-2011
Message 1 of 3 (276 Views)

Instability in Map 3D 2012 with Oracle FDO provider

276 Views, 2 Replies
04-23-2012 10:21 PM

Is anyone using this provider without issue? I kept getting random errors while editing features like:

 

- failed to save edit set

 -feature source is disconnected

- failed to describe class

- item "layer name" not found in collection

- SchemaName: LayerName (304). Rev #<1>

 

In every instance I am absolutely connected to Oracle. Editing features typically works the first time I setup the drawing's connection. However after saving and reopening the drawing the issues sometimes, not always surface. 

 

This works 100% stable in Map 3D 2010 but I unfortunately need the ENHANCED styling that Map 2012 provides. 

 

My setup:

 

Windows 7 64bit

4gb ram

Oracle 11gR1 64bit client

Map 3d 2012 64bit

 

 

Valued Mentor
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎10-10-2003
Message 2 of 3 (235 Views)

Re: Instability in Map 3D 2012 with Oracle FDO provider

05-16-2012 06:34 PM in reply to: tmblackflag

Yes, you are not alone.  This occurs in 2013 (Map 3D and AIMS) too.

I have been testing Autodesk FDO for Oracle and SL-KING FDO for Oracle and found that the Autodesk FDO for Oracle has some significant instabilities, especially over 100 users.  I've switched to SL-KING FDO but there are some limitations with Themeing etc.

 

The Autodesk FDO for Oracle definitely needs some tweaking, if not some serious re-work for both Autodesk Map 3D 2012 and 2013 as well as Autodesk Infrastructure Map Server 2012 and 2013.

 

 

Active Contributor
tmblackflag
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎07-20-2011
Message 3 of 3 (232 Views)

Re: Instability in Map 3D 2012 with Oracle FDO provider

05-16-2012 06:51 PM in reply to: tmblackflag

thank you Gordon.

 

I recently opened a ticket with Autodesk. They said my errors were linked to a change request that is fixed but not due out until their next patch which they have no date for.

 

They advised me that these issues are fixed in 2013 so I upgraded and have had good results so far. However my user group is only about 7 so I  would probably not encounter some of the issues you are having. 

 

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community