AutoCAD Map 3D General

Reply
Valued Contributor
wrightsville1
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎06-25-2004
Message 1 of 6 (127 Views)

Inputing Lat/Long points manually

127 Views, 5 Replies
06-28-2007 05:08 AM
I have downloaded a county map that is set to NAD83 datum, Latitude-Longitude Degrees. I can track the coordinates using the Track Coordinates tool. I want to draw points where manholes are using Lat/Long coordinates given to me. Everytime I type in a Lat/Long point the point goes off the map and when I put the tracker on it, it is not what I typed.
How to I put my manholes on this map using Lat/Long points?
I typed the info correctly so I must have a setting wrong that I don't know about.
Thanks
*Tripp Corbin, GISP
Message 2 of 6 (127 Views)

Re: Inputing Lat/Long points manually

06-28-2007 05:15 AM in reply to: wrightsville1
If I am not mistaken, you must convert Degrees Minutes and Seconds to
Decimal Degrees in order to input those positions. CorpsCon from the Corps
of Engineers is a great tool for this and it is free. Here is the link:
http://crunch.tec.army.mil/software/corpscon/corpscon.html

--
Tripp Corbin, MCP, CFM, GISP
Associate Vice President, GIS/Mapping
ESRI Authorized Instructor
Keck & Wood, Inc.
www.keckwood.com
(678) 417-4013
(678) 417-8785 fax

Keck & Wood, Inc offers instructor led and virtual training for ESRI's
ArcGIS & ArcView software.
Please visit www.keckwood.com for more information including a schedule of
upcoming classes.



wrote in message news:5641359@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have downloaded a county map that is set to NAD83 datum,
Latitude-Longitude Degrees. I can track the coordinates using the Track
Coordinates tool. I want to draw points where manholes are using Lat/Long
coordinates given to me. Everytime I type in a Lat/Long point the point
goes off the map and when I put the tracker on it, it is not what I typed.
How to I put my manholes on this map using Lat/Long points?
I typed the info correctly so I must have a setting wrong that I don't know
about.
Thanks
*James Murphy
Message 3 of 6 (127 Views)

Re: Inputing Lat/Long points manually

06-28-2007 07:33 AM in reply to: wrightsville1
Have you tried using the digitize from the Coordinate Tracker?

--

Murph
The world is not FLAT so why is your GIS data?
http://map3d.wordpress.com
wrote in message news:5641359@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have downloaded a county map that is set to NAD83 datum,
Latitude-Longitude Degrees. I can track the coordinates using the Track
Coordinates tool. I want to draw points where manholes are using Lat/Long
coordinates given to me. Everytime I type in a Lat/Long point the point
goes off the map and when I put the tracker on it, it is not what I typed.
How to I put my manholes on this map using Lat/Long points?
I typed the info correctly so I must have a setting wrong that I don't know
about.
Thanks
Valued Contributor
wrightsville1
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎06-25-2004
Message 4 of 6 (127 Views)

Re: Inputing Lat/Long points manually

06-28-2007 08:07 AM in reply to: wrightsville1
Thanks for the link Tripp!
I'll just convert the Lat/Long Manhole points and put them on the State Planes map.
Distinguished Contributor
jessebelcher-tvec
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎11-21-2003
Message 5 of 6 (127 Views)

Re: Inputing Lat/Long points manually

06-28-2007 12:00 PM in reply to: wrightsville1
FYI

We used to use the Corpscon but now use a program that is free for small use. You can convert txt to dxf shp Google earth and a whole lot more.

http://www.gpsu.co.uk/
Valued Contributor
wrightsville1
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎06-25-2004
Message 6 of 6 (127 Views)

Re: Inputing Lat/Long points manually

06-29-2007 04:59 AM in reply to: wrightsville1
jessebelcher-tvec
Thanks for the link. I will definitely check it out!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community