AutoCAD Map 3D General

Reply
Active Member
pete1618
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-28-2011
Message 1 of 8 (1,355 Views)

Importing .mdb files

1355 Views, 7 Replies
12-19-2011 03:49 PM

I’m using AutoCAD MAP 3D 2012. I’m trying to import a .mdb file. The text that I’m working from says because I’m working on a 64 bit machine I will have to download from Microsoft a file called Microsoft Access Database Engine and install the proper drivers. I’ve downloaded the file and run it and rebooted my machine but I still can’t bring in the .mdb file. What am I doing wrong?

 

Pete1618

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,869
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 8 (1,354 Views)

Re: Importing .mdb files

12-19-2011 04:00 PM in reply to: pete1618

Import in what way? Data connect or DBconnect? Have you created a new ODBC source connection or udl file for that mdb file?

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Product Support
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎04-25-2008
Message 3 of 8 (1,336 Views)

Re: Importing .mdb files

12-20-2011 06:27 AM in reply to: pete1618

There's a new Technical solution for x64 compatibility: http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS18307898 - it sounds like you have already done this part.  As Murph mentioned, you do need to set up the DSN in order to see the data in Map/Civil.



Nate Moore, GISP
Geospatial Premium Support Specialist
Global Services
Autodesk, Sarl
Active Member
pete1618
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-28-2011
Message 4 of 8 (1,333 Views)

Re: Importing .mdb files

12-20-2011 07:57 AM in reply to: pete1618

Oh well, the question’s moot now. Thanks for your help. Just after I hit the send button the boss called me in and laid me off. Lack of work. So anybody have any work? Veteran CAD operator and novice in ESRI and AutoCAD MAP.  S.FBayArea.

Active Member
pete1618
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-28-2011
Message 5 of 8 (1,323 Views)

Re: Importing .mdb files

12-20-2011 12:00 PM in reply to: pete1618

Civil, Environmental and Geotechnical

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,869
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 8 (1,318 Views)

Re: Importing .mdb files

12-20-2011 03:42 PM in reply to: pete1618

pete1618 wrote:

Oh well, the question’s moot now. Thanks for your help. Just after I hit the send button the boss called me in and laid me off. Lack of work. So anybody have any work? Veteran CAD operator and novice in ESRI and AutoCAD MAP.  S.FBayArea.


Welcome to the club, it's been 16 months for me. Maybe you can head north about an hour and get on at the mothership.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 387
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 7 of 8 (1,274 Views)

Re: Importing .mdb files

12-31-2011 08:00 AM in reply to: Murph

I have been through installation hell.  Patially Autodesk's fault and partially Microsoft's fault. 

 I need to install the 32 bit version of MS OFFICE to be compatible with other things like having Outlook sync with my phone. 

However, I can't install the 32 bit version of AutoCAD MAP on my 64 bit machine.  If I try to do that I just get warnings that stop the installation.  The problem then arises that if I install the 64 bit version of MAP I can't connect with MS ACCESS .mdb files from the 32 bit version of ACCESS.


I found the guidance suggested above that I should uninstall office and install the 64 bit version of the Access database connection software via the file AccessDatabaseEngine_x64.exe.  Well, once I do that I can't reinstall the 32 bit version of OFFICE so I am in a rat race.

 What I want is a way to have the 64 bit version of MAP connect to a 32 bit version of ACCESS.  Is this possible?  I have submitted this to subscription support so when I get an answer from them I will post it.

Option 2:

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 387
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 8 of 8 (1,030 Views)

Re: Importing .mdb files

07-17-2012 01:47 PM in reply to: phmurphy

I had to go through the installation hell again with a new desktop and I had a mystery 32-bit file that I had to get rid of that didn't show up in the Control Panel Program removal procedure.  I had to go to the web to find an old MS program that would find and remove the file called Microsoft Single Image 2010. 

 

Go online, search for and download msicuu2.exe (no longer available from the microsoft website) and install it. Restart your pc and run this Windows Install Clean Up app. It will list all applications and Microsoft Office Single Image 2010 will show up in the list. Select it and click on the remove button.

 

I am attaching the file since it is tedious to track down.  I changed the file extension from .exe to .doc.

 

Pat

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community