AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
Jfactory
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-06-2013
Message 1 of 5 (176 Views)

I re-installed ACAD, now my shp files are corrupted?? Please help

176 Views, 4 Replies
07-31-2013 01:19 PM

There has been a different ongoing issue I'm having. I came to a point where I thought it was best to uninstall / reinstall.

 

Now I have the old issue plus new ones.

 

My shp files say there is an inconsistency in number of objects.  I can't do anything with them!

 

Another thread said to delete the .idx files in the folder. I did that. No luck.

 

How can I uncorrupt these files? I am desperate to get them, it's like 4 months of work!

 

P.S. Windows 7. ACAD Map 3D 2013 w/ sp 2.1.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,962
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 5 (172 Views)

Re: I re-installed ACAD, now my shp files are corrupted?? Please help

07-31-2013 02:06 PM in reply to: Jfactory

Hi,

 

>> My shp files say there is an inconsistency in number of objects

What command did you use that tells you that? _MAPIMPORT or _MAPCONNECT?

Whatever command you used, try the other one :smileywink:

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
Jfactory
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-06-2013
Message 3 of 5 (166 Views)

Re: I re-installed ACAD, now my shp files are corrupted?? Please help

07-31-2013 02:48 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Thank you for your reply, but neither worked, unfortunately.

 

I mainly use _mapconnect. I tried _mapimport and it still said it was corrupted or does not have the same number of objects as the .shx file.  Which is strange because i've only and always edited these files using _mapconnect and I always check in the data.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,962
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 5 (164 Views)

Re: I re-installed ACAD, now my shp files are corrupted?? Please help

07-31-2013 02:51 PM in reply to: Jfactory

Hi,

 

sorry to say, but I have no tool that repairs SHP-data (and have not searched for anyone yet).

So I guess it's time for a restore from previous backups (or use Google to search for SHP-repair software).

 

Sorry, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,947
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 5 (155 Views)

Re: I re-installed ACAD, now my shp files are corrupted?? Please help

07-31-2013 04:05 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

I have an old exe that repairs shp files on my old pc sitting in the corner. In the mean time here are two that may work

http://freegeographytools.com/2009/fixing-corrupt-shapefiles

http://freegeographytools.com/2009/fixing-corrupt-shapefiles 

I can't say if they work or not so use at your own risk.

 

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.