AutoCAD Map 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Map 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Map 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to georeference a .shp from a .dwg non georeferenced?

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
remyyyT
1457 Views, 7 Replies

How to georeference a .shp from a .dwg non georeferenced?

Hi,

I'm new in Autocad Map 3D (and Autocad also). I have a .dwg non georefenced and I'm able to have the longitude/latitude of several points of this .dwg. I work with the trial version of Autocad Map 3D 2011. My aim is to get .shp georeferenced.

For the moment, I assigned a coordinate system (LL84) to the .dwg. After that, I don't really know how to georeference my .dwg with the latitudes/longitudes that I know.

To convert .dwg to .shp, I think it's ok. I already did some tests (.dwg->.sdf->.shp). My problem is georeferencing.

I will greatly appreciate any help.   Thanks

Remy

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
tjmapper
in reply to: remyyyT

You can find the button or use the command 'MAPCSASSIGN' to assign a coordinate system to your DWG. When converting from DWG to SDF or SHP you can define what coordinate system you are exporting it too on the 3rd tab of the export dialogue.

When you add something from an FDO connection it will automatically assign the coordinate system or the source if the drawing does not already have one defined.

Message 3 of 8
remyyyT
in reply to: tjmapper

Thanks for your answer. Nevertheless, I have no problem to assign a coordinate system to my .dwg.

My problem is to georeference my .dwg with several points for which I know their longitutde/latitude.

Message 4 of 8
tjmapper

So you just want to insert your points using Lat/Long in the LL84 coordinate system?

or you have a set of shapes/points (parcels, survey points) your trying to move to those coordinates??