AutoCAD Map 3D General

Reply
Valued Contributor
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎04-06-2006
Message 1 of 11 (736 Views)

Hatch islands from AutoCAD to ArcMap

736 Views, 10 Replies
06-19-2007 11:09 AM
I wonder if anyone can help me with this problem:

I have hatched some polygons in an AutoCAD 2007 file. They are polygons of golf greens, tees, and fairways and I hatched them as separate hatches. In AutoCAD the islands or holes in the middle are fine. When our GIS person brings them into ArcMap, the holes are not there, it is one solid fill. I don't know if the problem can be fixed in ArcMap as I am not much of an ArcMap user but is there something I can do different in AutoCAD to solve the problem? Or does anyone know a fix in ArcMap?

Thanks,
Katy
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎11-21-2003
Message 2 of 11 (736 Views)

Re: Hatch islands from AutoCAD to ArcMap

06-19-2007 11:50 AM in reply to: katydidnt
Can you post one of the polygons as a dwg and I can see if I can get it to work? If I understand you have a polygon with a hole in the middle. And when you bring it in to Arc map the polygon is there but no hole in the middle.
Valued Contributor
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎04-06-2006
Message 3 of 11 (736 Views)

Re: Hatch islands from AutoCAD to ArcMap

06-19-2007 12:22 PM in reply to: katydidnt
Attached is a sample area with the polygons hatched. I saved it as a 2004 dwg. The problem hatches are mostly the fairways with the islands/holes. Thanks for looking at it.

Our GIS person has done a time consuming workaround for now but it will be nice to solve the issue as we have other golf courses coming up.
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎11-21-2003
Message 4 of 11 (736 Views)

Re: Hatch islands from AutoCAD to ArcMap

06-19-2007 12:46 PM in reply to: katydidnt
Well with that kind of drawing it is kind of hard to do it from map. What you can do is export the outlines first then the holes second. Then in Arc map subtract the holes from the outlines. Or what I did was exported it all as a line shp file then in arc map you can create polygons from lines and delete out the holes.

So I don’t think I have answered your question. But it can be done.
*Murph
Message 5 of 11 (736 Views)

Re: Hatch islands from AutoCAD to ArcMap

06-19-2007 02:24 PM in reply to: katydidnt
Use the mpolygon command. It's on the polygon toolbar (create polygon).

Command: mpolygon

Specify start point or [Fill/Select objects/eXit]
Valued Contributor
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎04-06-2006
Message 6 of 11 (736 Views)

Re: Hatch islands from AutoCAD to ArcMap

06-19-2007 02:35 PM in reply to: katydidnt
Thank you Murph :smileyhappy: It works perfectly!
*Murph
Message 7 of 11 (736 Views)

Re: Hatch islands from AutoCAD to ArcMap

06-19-2007 07:19 PM in reply to: katydidnt
Your welcome ms didnt.
:smileyhappy:

Murph

wrote in message news:5631567@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thank you Murph :smileyhappy: It works perfectly!
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 657
Registered: ‎04-29-2007
Message 8 of 11 (736 Views)

Re: Hatch islands from AutoCAD to ArcMap

04-24-2008 01:20 PM in reply to: katydidnt
I am glad we archive these discussions. I was looking for a solution to this problem.

John
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-12-2012
Message 9 of 11 (472 Views)

Re: Hatch islands from AutoCAD to ArcMap

12-17-2012 08:04 AM in reply to: katydidnt

Nice!  Five years later and mpolygon is still the way to go.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,494
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 10 of 11 (467 Views)

Re: Hatch islands from AutoCAD to ArcMap

12-17-2012 10:54 AM in reply to: msisler

msisler wrote:

mpolygon is still the way to go.


Not only, sir: a clever alternative is to create a polygon topology of your areas, then _MAPEXPORT it to .SHP format.

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community