AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,749
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 1 of 17 (672 Views)
Accepted Solution

GeoTIF Greyed Out in Layout

672 Views, 16 Replies
01-13-2013 10:12 AM

Howdy all,

 

I downloaded some GeoTIFs from Nationmap.gov. I attched them using FDO and when I view them in a layout tab, they are all greyed back and almost looks inversed but not quite. Any ideas on how to adjust the images so it looks correct?

 

I'm using Civil 3D 2013 SP1.

 

 

I just tried it again with the MAPIINSERT command and I'm getting something similar.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,890
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 17 (666 Views)

Re: GeoTIF Greyed Out in Layout

01-13-2013 10:49 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Hi,

 

is it the same on plot or plot-preview?

Is it the same if you first convert it to a JPG or ECW and connect that file(s)?

What is the visual-style setting of this viewport?


If it's inserted with MAPIINSERT then it has a layer, is the layer's setting modified for this viewport?

 

At least (what might help): Upload this drawing with this layout only and with one of the TIFFs. So I can try to replace the reference to one of my TIFFs and I can then use your viewport to try it on my system.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,749
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 3 of 17 (659 Views)

Re: GeoTIF Greyed Out in Layout

01-13-2013 11:20 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Thanks for the suggestions. This file was created using the default Civil 3D template. It does appear the same way when plotting to pdf (as well as the plot preview).

 

HERE is a link to download the exact file I downloaded from nationalmap.gov (it's my dropbox account so if you are reading this a long time after this post, I've probably removed the file). Set the drawing coordinate system to wy83-ef (or another east wyoming coordinate system).

 

HERE is a video showing exactly what I did to attach the images.

 

I thought I might be able to get around this by plotting from model space but the plot looks the same either way (i.e. not good).

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,890
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 17 (651 Views)

Re: GeoTIF Greyed Out in Layout

01-13-2013 12:03 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

Hi,

 

my result is a little bit different. What I tried and what I got:

I always started with my template (for the tests I dis for now), that is the Austrian CK template.

I also run Civil3D 2013 x64 SP1 German on Win7 x64

 

When I load the JPG, it looks good in every case, either loading it via FDO or via MAPIINSERT, it looks good on modelspace and within a new viewport.

When I load the TIFF, it's all ok (modelspace and paperspace) when I use MAPIINSERT. But when I use FDO to reference the image to my template it looks faded in both situtions, modelspace and paperspace.

 

The next test was to use the template you showed as your default one (_AutoCAD Civil 3D (Imperial) NCS.dwt), again same results as above, so I see no difference for the drawings/templates we used.

 

Now I tried to save the TIFF as LZW-compressed TIFF (using IrfanView) and restarted Civil3D, cleaned the cache (command _MAPOPTIONS, tab "System") and retried loading the TIFF. Now both versions, FDO and MAPIINSERT are working as designed.

 

Let me know if that works for you too (I hope so)

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,890
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 5 of 17 (647 Views)

Re: GeoTIF Greyed Out in Layout

01-13-2013 12:16 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

Hi,

 

if it's a help: Map3D has the same problem, at least with FDO/_MAPCONNECT, the uncompressed TIFF also looks like faded out with FDO,

The difference is: it looks ok with _MAPIINSERT.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,749
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 6 of 17 (642 Views)

Re: GeoTIF Greyed Out in Layout

01-13-2013 01:41 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Aha! It seems to have something to do with the cooridnate system. If I insert them without defining a coordinate system first, they look just fine but if I assign the WY83-EF coordinate system to the drawing and then bring the images in, they get all funky on me.

 

Alfred, did you assign the coordinate system prior to testing this?

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,890
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 7 of 17 (627 Views)

Re: GeoTIF Greyed Out in Layout

01-14-2013 01:59 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Hi,

 

>> Alfred, did you assign the coordinate system prior to testing this?

It might depend on it, but I first tested with and without setting the ADESETCRSYS with your original file. All my later tests did not set it as my first result was "does not depend". So I have not tried if my compressed file would show the same error when the projection is active. Sorry if that really is the reason and I missed it.

Currently I can't check it again as I run out of time. I'll try it later.

 

- alfred

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,890
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 8 of 17 (618 Views)

Re: GeoTIF Greyed Out in Layout

01-14-2013 01:13 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

Hi,

 

ok, looking to your idea with Civil3D and Map3D (each version 2013) I guess you are fully right!


Setting ADESETCRDSYS before doing _MAPIINSERT fades the TIFF to grey (with Civil3D and Map3D), but for me it does not make troubles with the JPG, does it fade out the JPG on your workstation?

 

All my tries no were only with _MAPIINSERT and with just the TIF/TFW and JPG/JGW, all other files I have not had in the testfolder now.

I did one try with Civil3D2012 (x64 German) and there the TIF/TFW does not fade out (having set ADESETCRDSYS first).

 

Sorry for not beeing a help (well, maybe the JPG works for you).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,749
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 9 of 17 (611 Views)

Re: GeoTIF Greyed Out in Layout

01-14-2013 07:54 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Unfortunately, the jpg files are much smaller and have much less detail then the tif files do so that won't work for me. I'll give it a try in 2012 and see if it works better there.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,890
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 10 of 17 (606 Views)

Re: GeoTIF Greyed Out in Layout

01-14-2013 09:50 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

Hi,

 

>> Unfortunately, the jpg files are much smaller and have much less detail

When converting to JPG you will have the chance to define resolution and compression. So it does not have to be less quality with JPG. Anyway you also can convert to any other raster-format with geo-informations (e.g. mrsid, ecw).

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community