AutoCAD Map 3D General

glanglois
Message 1 of 6 (266 Views)

General question/New to mapping with CAD

266 Views, 5 Replies
09-28-2012 10:46 AM

Hello all,

I'm going to preface this post by saying I'm a complete newbie to mapping with AutoCad. That being said, I do have experience with other CAD products.

The project: Taking survey data (x,yz) where x,y are coordinates and z is elevation and drawing a 3d polyline in the program. It is my hopes that I can do so over a basemap of the area we are working in. I am hoping to do this as simply as possible.

I was wondering if someone could speak to the basics of how to do this or provide me some good references to use. In addition, I am a student (this project is for engineers without borders) so I have access to a wide variety of CAD and GIS suites if you feel that one will suite my needs better.

Thanks in advance,

Grant

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Message 2 of 6 (262 Views)

Re: General question/New to mapping with CAD

09-28-2012 11:13 AM in reply to: glanglois

glanglois wrote:

Taking survey data ... and drawing a 3d polyline

Would you please elaborate that, e.g. with a couple of screenshots?

glanglois
Message 3 of 6 (257 Views)

09-28-2012 11:59 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Thanks for the reply! I don't have much now to take a screenshot of. Let me try to clarify my intent?

We are contructing a water pipeline in a foreign country as volunteers. Our survey team recently surveyed the area and gave us various coordinates for the pipeline.

They are in the form <Easting,Northing,Elevation>

I am able to plot the line to problem using these points; however I would like to incorporate a basemap of the area to go under this data. (e.g so that the points of the pipeline corrsepond to a point on the map). 

I guess i'm just wondering what the best way to approach this project is.

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Message 4 of 6 (253 Views)

09-28-2012 12:14 PM in reply to: glanglois