AutoCAD Map 3D General

Reply
Active Contributor
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-21-2009
Message 1 of 8 (485 Views)

Figuring out scaling....what am I doing?

485 Views, 7 Replies
09-20-2010 06:57 AM

I didn't know where to post this and i have researched on the internet and still don't understand.

I have always worked with a map that is in Feet and Inches.  We are trying to work with the map in NAD83 now.  My problem is that people ask me all the time the print the map for them in different scales so they can sketch designs on the map.  They like scales like 1/8"=1'-0", 1/4"=1'-0"., 1"=20'-0"....and so on.

Is there a chart or a place I can find the formula to do this?  Is this possible with a NAD83 Map?

I would hate to have to keep 2 maps to keep things running.

Thanks! 

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,867
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 8 (472 Views)

Re: Figuring out scaling....what am I doing?

09-20-2010 02:57 PM in reply to: wrightsville1

NAD is a datum not a complete coordinate system as far as units go. Are you using LL83 or a stateplane NAD83 coordinate system?

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Contributor
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-21-2009
Message 3 of 8 (456 Views)

Re: Figuring out scaling....what am I doing?

09-21-2010 12:51 PM in reply to: wrightsville1

state plane NAD83 coordinate system

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,867
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 8 (452 Views)

Re: Figuring out scaling....what am I doing?

09-21-2010 01:55 PM in reply to: wrightsville1

If everything is in standard fett units then is just simple AutoCAD paperspace setups and vport scaling. Of course you need to edit the scale list and add some scales to it. At 1"-1' on a D size plot you only see about 36 feet of map. You should try using 1''- 100' or greater for mapping.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Valued Mentor
Posts: 474
Registered: ‎05-10-2010
Message 5 of 8 (449 Views)

Re: Figuring out scaling....what am I doing?

09-21-2010 03:07 PM in reply to: wrightsville1

So, with what Murph is leading you to, from Paper Space, check your viewport scale in the lower right corner of your screen when you activate your primary map view.  Here is where you can set the scale.

 

Also, make sure you work with a text style that is "annotative" and not hard-set for height (i.e. 10 or 20 drawing units).  Instead, if you work with annotative text, it will automatically scale up to be your determined height on the printed page as a relation to your viewport scale.  This means that you no longer have to maintain 2 or more text layers for your different maps' scales.

 

Hope this helps!

 

TdH

Active Contributor
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-21-2009
Message 6 of 8 (436 Views)

Re: Figuring out scaling....what am I doing?

09-22-2010 12:50 PM in reply to: wrightsville1

Thanks for your help.  I will try this out :smileyhappy:

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,867
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 8 (432 Views)

Re: Figuring out scaling....what am I doing?

09-22-2010 02:40 PM in reply to: tzzzzoddhepworth4253

Eeeeeeee.... Annotation scales ........ ONLY as long as you use it for standard auto text/blocks. Using FDO the style settings works better or if you are using Civil 3D stay away from the anno texts.

 

Also open up the Viewports toolbar it will let you switch the viewport scale with a click.

 


toddhepworth4253 wrote:

So, with what Murph is leading you to, from Paper Space, check your viewport scale in the lower right corner of your screen when you activate your primary map view.  Here is where you can set the scale.

 

Also, make sure you work with a text style that is "annotative" and not hard-set for height (i.e. 10 or 20 drawing units).  Instead, if you work with annotative text, it will automatically scale up to be your determined height on the printed page as a relation to your viewport scale.  This means that you no longer have to maintain 2 or more text layers for your different maps' scales.

 

Hope this helps!

 

TdH


 

 

 

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Valued Mentor
Posts: 474
Registered: ‎05-10-2010
Message 8 of 8 (426 Views)

Re: Figuring out scaling....what am I doing?

09-22-2010 06:31 PM in reply to: Murph

as usual, thanks Murph - I concur - sometimes my train doesn't always reach the station...

 

I was thinking about "plain" acad objects and not about feature labels when I wrote my reply. 

 

Cheers!

 

T

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community