AutoCAD Map 3D General

Reply
Valued Contributor
DrWileFTracer
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 1 of 3 (223 Views)

Exporting to shape files

223 Views, 2 Replies
09-24-2012 05:01 AM

I'm extremely new to map 3d 2013 and have a couple questions. I have a number of closed polylines on a map that will represent different areas with specific characteristics. I want each area (polyline) to have a table attached in order to include information about each area. How do I get each polyline to show up as a layer and how do I attach a table to each polyline?

 

Also, I have a number of house symbols over the full extents of the drawing. All the houses are on the same layer. Is it possible to do a query whereby I could ask to see only those houses which fall within one or more particular polyline areas? Could I, as well, do a query to have the number of houses within a certain polyline(s) shown?

 

Thanks in advance

 

Wil

Valued Mentor
parkr4st
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎03-24-2004
Message 2 of 3 (216 Views)

Re: Exporting to shape files

09-24-2012 06:00 AM in reply to: DrWileFTracer

I'm extremely new to map 3d 2013 and have a couple questions. I have a number of closed polylines on a map that will represent different areas with specific characteristics. I want each area (polyline) to have a table attached in order to include information about each area. How do I get each polyline to show up as a layer and how do I attach a table to each polyline?

 

do you want a label formated as a table for each pl? you can query each pl and save the result as a layer file and add those files back into the map. Perhaps you could sketch what you want to have as the appearance of  the pl>

 

Also, I have a number of house symbols over the full extents of the drawing. All the houses are on the same layer. Is it possible to do a query whereby I could ask to see only those houses which fall within one or more particular polyline areas? Could I, as well, do a query to have the number of houses within a certain polyline(s) shown?

 

display manager, right click, select the query option and query by an existing pl, or area, fence, etc. again you can save the query;  option button in lower area of query editor and the result as a .layer file

 

Dave

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,575
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 3 of 3 (183 Views)

Re: Exporting to shape files

09-24-2012 11:52 PM in reply to: DrWileFTracer

DrWileFTracer wrote:

how do I attach a table to each polyline? 


There's 2 ways: manual and automatic.

1] the manual one involves the commands _ADEDEFDATA and _ADEATTACHDATA, but you'd use only if you have few objects

2] the automatic one requires an unique ID drawn inside the closed polylines (i.e. a simple Dtext like 001,002,003,...) and an external database (e.g. in Excel or Access format) with records numbered identically 001,002,003...

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community