AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
douglawson3952
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎02-04-2008
Message 1 of 4 (410 Views)

Executing Query during zoom

410 Views, 3 Replies
03-31-2010 12:50 PM
I have a county wide aerial image in jp2 format, connected through Data Connect and everytime I pan or zoom it says "executing query". It is very slow getting around in the drawing (tracing over tree line, roads, etc.). I have a Windows 7 64-bit machine with 6 GB of RAM. Is there a setting I can turn off to make zooming, panning, changing layouts, etc. faster?

Thanks,
Doug
Active Contributor
KrakowiAneczka
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 2 of 4 (247 Views)

Re: Executing Query during zoom

10-13-2011 04:50 AM in reply to: douglawson3952

I've got the same problem.

Have you found a solution to it?

 

Thanks!

Active Contributor
daniel.queiroz
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎03-27-2011
Message 3 of 4 (183 Views)

Re: Executing Query during zoom

05-09-2012 12:02 PM in reply to: douglawson3952

Everytime I zoom in or out, Map 3D Executes a Query and it takes a couple of seconds.

 

Has anyone come to a solution to this issue?

 

Thanks!

Daniel Queiroz
Technical Specialist
Autodesk Latin America

Autodesk do Brasil Ltda.
Rua James Joule 65 - 4o andar
CEP 04576-080 - São Paulo/SP
Valued Mentor
parkr4st
Posts: 423
Registered: ‎03-24-2004
Message 4 of 4 (172 Views)

Re: Executing Query during zoom

05-10-2012 02:07 AM in reply to: daniel.queiroz

That is normal behaviour.   Map is querying the raster connected to the drawing which takes time depending on your hardware speed, graphics card, file size etc.  the zoom send the coords of the new zoom area to teh inage and retrieves that portion with the query and then displays it.

 

inserting the graphic  with _mapiinsert puts the image into the dwg and it works faster because it does not have to query when zooming.

 

a query takes about 1 to 2 seconds on my computer with the image sizes i work with, (SID s in the 500 to 1000 KB range) zoom the inserted image about 1/5 of that

 

read up on hardware acceleration and 3dconfig.   those may provide you some things to check

 

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community