AutoCAD Map 3D General

Reply
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-01-2012
Message 1 of 6 (186 Views)

Digiting in AutoCAD Map 3d 2012

186 Views, 5 Replies
05-01-2012 11:18 AM

I would like to know how to begin to digitize a .jpg file. I have the 2D Drafting Workspace selected. Next, in the Map Drafting tab, do I insert an image with the Insert Image tool? I did this and a new window called Image Correlation came up asking for insertion points. Is this how I register or georectify the .jpg file.

 

Or something completely different needed? For example, do I need to convert the ..jpg file to a different type of file? I am digitizing a section map of drill holes/.

 

What I am looking for is the step-by-step process. Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,491
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 2 of 6 (184 Views)

Re: Digiting in AutoCAD Map 3d 2012

05-01-2012 11:31 AM in reply to: asrichter

Forget it, and vectorize automatically with the free Wintopo...

Valued Mentor
Posts: 376
Registered: ‎03-24-2004
Message 3 of 6 (181 Views)

Re: Digiting in AutoCAD Map 3d 2012

05-01-2012 11:43 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

does the .jpg have a world file?  could be .prj or .tfw extension. file name the same as the .jpg file

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,491
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 4 of 6 (175 Views)

Re: Digiting in AutoCAD Map 3d 2012

05-01-2012 12:49 PM in reply to: parkr4st

parkr4st wrote:

world file... could be .prj or .tfw extension


Worldfile belonging to a JPEG may only have .JGW extension, sir.

After vectorising that raster by means of Wintopo, you could _ALIGN the vector result according to a couple of GPS points, or an ortophoto loaded from a WMS server.

Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-01-2012
Message 5 of 6 (171 Views)

Re: Digiting in AutoCAD Map 3d 2012

05-01-2012 01:49 PM in reply to: antoniovinci

What does it mean to vectorize?

 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,491
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 6 of 6 (169 Views)

Re: Digiting in AutoCAD Map 3d 2012

05-01-2012 02:07 PM in reply to: asrichter

It means automatically transforming raster graphics in vector lines, instead of manually digitizing point by point.

About georeferencing a bitmap, it's not a good idea in my opinion: you'd better use Wintopo, then _ALIGN the vectors on the Earth as advised above.

Before saving the aligned drawing, don't forget to issue the correct CRS with _ADESETCRDSYS command.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community