AutoCAD Map 3D General

Reply
Contributor
neilroper
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎07-07-2010
Message 1 of 4 (655 Views)

Creating Multi-polygons

655 Views, 3 Replies
04-09-2012 12:57 PM

Hello

 

I am trying to figure out how to create multi-polygons with AutoCAD Map.

 

Preferably I would like to create them using the closed polylines i already have in my drawings. It would even by ok to create a multiple feature shape file, then join them together in to one feature using feature edit/map tools.

 

I have fiddled with the "MPOLYGON" tool, but I don't seem to be able to merge another polygon (MPMERGE = Unknown command??) after i have finished the initial "MPOLYGON" command, so this is not the best solution.

 

If I create a multiple feature shape file, then connect to the shape file and try to edit; The "MAPFEATUREMERGE" command lets me select both objects, but then asks "Specify feature ID for us {Select/New} <Select>. The select doesn't let me select either of the features I’m trying to merge, and the "New" kicks me out of the command or says invalid entry.

 

I am able to merge "touching" features, but not features separated by a gap.

I figure I’m probably overlooking something very basic, so any help that can be offered is appreciated.

 

If I haven't explained everything properly, let me know in a reply, and I’ll try to clarify

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,922
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 4 (645 Views)

Re: Creating Multi-polygons

04-09-2012 02:51 PM in reply to: neilroper

Make sure your polylines are closed, look in the property palette at the closed property.

Look at using the _mapmpedit command to merge or add new boundaries to existing MPolygons.

Pay attension to the command line with all the options.

 

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Contributor
neilroper
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎07-07-2010
Message 3 of 4 (642 Views)

Re: Creating Multi-polygons

04-09-2012 03:13 PM in reply to: Murph

Thanks for the quick reply

 

The "MAPMPEDIT" allows me to add polygons to existing polygons; which i would then map export to create a "multi-polygons" shape file (I hope i have the terminology right). Unfortunatly, the polygons objects don't work very well for how i have to have my drawing configured. Is there a way to get the same result using just closed polylines?

 

Or is there a way to join exsting shape file features into a "multi-polygon"?

 

 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,577
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 4 of 4 (630 Views)

Re: Creating Multi-polygons

04-09-2012 11:27 PM in reply to: neilroper

I'd do that by means of topologies (command _MAPTOPOCREATE).

You then _MAPEXPORT the polygonal topology as a shapefile, and finally you _MAPIMPORT it back into your main drawing, enjoying nice mpolygons as islands, holed regions, and so on.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community