AutoCAD Map 3D General

Reply
Active Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-22-2013
Message 1 of 12 (136 Views)

Connecting Drawings and 0z values

136 Views, 11 Replies
10-22-2013 11:28 AM

Please someone help me here?

 

Why have i got 0 for all my z values I have followed all the steps in the Guide and still have 0, my x and y axis are ok. Im wondering if it may be something to do with the Digimap and OS downloads.

 

Another thing

How do i conect all my drawing downloads i have together ive tried the coordinates system and just dont get anywhere.
Downloaded from Digimap i have 20 different drawings of this section but i cant connect them together. I have a catalogue system which is just like a coordinates section with these 20 places. All my drawings are fine they open in autocad fine just need to put them together to link them.

If someone can give me an easy explained guide or even a video of my problems it would be a great help.
So far ive typed it into google several times watched several videos and still no where.

David
From the UK so use Great Britain OS maps

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,867
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 12 (114 Views)

Re: Connecting Drawings and 0z values

10-22-2013 03:25 PM in reply to: davidu01

What format did you download? Can you post a sample of what you have?

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-22-2013
Message 3 of 12 (108 Views)

Re: Connecting Drawings and 0z values

10-22-2013 04:10 PM in reply to: davidu01

I have both DWG and DXF both work fine. All the drawings open its just putting them together that i have problems with and the z values.
Took some screenshots but it wont allow me to process them

 

one drawing has a grid with 20 squares

the other drawings have everything that should be within these squares but i cant get them together.

 

the other i went to create points selected them and it gave me x and y values but no z

 

It be much better if it let me post the pictures

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,495
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 4 of 12 (99 Views)

Re: Connecting Drawings and 0z values

10-23-2013 12:49 AM in reply to: davidu01
davidu01 wrote:

It be ... if it let me


Whoa... in which jail did you learn writing this slang, man..?


Please zip and attach here EVERYTHING you have, thx.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,867
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 12 (93 Views)

Re: Connecting Drawings and 0z values

10-23-2013 04:29 AM in reply to: davidu01

If you got dwg and dxf then I would bet they do not have any elevation data with them nor any coordinate system with them. Did you get any metadata or readme files with any of it?

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,495
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 6 of 12 (90 Views)

Re: Connecting Drawings and 0z values

10-23-2013 04:58 AM in reply to: Murph

Good point, M, or his DWG has Z attribute embedded as Object Data, that's why I'd like to have a look into...

Active Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-22-2013
Message 7 of 12 (82 Views)

Re: Connecting Drawings and 0z values

10-23-2013 05:47 AM in reply to: davidu01

Is it ok if i get one of your emails, I know you might not like giving it out but autodesk will not let me post everything that use would like.
It also takes about 20 minutes for me to be told the file is too large.

Active Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-22-2013
Message 8 of 12 (81 Views)

Re: Connecting Drawings and 0z values

10-23-2013 05:48 AM in reply to: davidu01

sorry mine is davidu01@yahoo.com

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,495
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 9 of 12 (65 Views)

Re: Connecting Drawings and 0z values

10-23-2013 09:16 AM in reply to: davidu01

davidu01 wrote:

It also takes about 20 minutes for me to be told the file is too large.


Sir, if you wanna get helped, let your IT guru read this topic.
He will upload that DWG on a file sharing service, not in 20', but in 20", trust me.

Active Member
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-22-2013
Message 10 of 12 (49 Views)

Re: Connecting Drawings and 0z values

10-25-2013 04:53 AM in reply to: davidu01

The IT expert at my uni is never in so still having trouble doing this.

all the files are correct.
Just really need to know how to connect all my OS maps into one drawing

The z values dont really matter now but it be great if one of yous could suggest a way of doing it. I do have heights in the stuff ive downloaded but instead of being in the z value they separate themselves as height.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community