AutoCAD Map 3D General

Reply
Active Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-26-2012
Message 1 of 7 (230 Views)

Can Map 3D do what I need it to? ...

230 Views, 6 Replies
12-26-2012 12:39 AM

Hello,

I just downloaded Map 3D. I would like to compile many layers of maps for my senior project as an engineering student. I am conducting a feasibility study of offshore wind on Lake Michigan. I would like to combine maps with information like electric grid power flow, bird migration patterns, protected fisheries areas, navigation routes, water depth etc. I have found this data mapped elsewhere and much of this information is available in varied formats.

 

I don't want to invest the time to learn this program if I will not be able to combine this data because I am so busy. It seems that I would be able to do it once I learn the program though. I will spend the time to learn AutoCAD Map 3D if I can use it for what I need it for.

 

Any thoughts?

 

Thanks,

Anna

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,862
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 7 (218 Views)

Re: Can Map 3D do what I need it to? ...

12-26-2012 04:15 AM in reply to: anna.pesola

Yes, Map3D can do that. What format is the data that you have so far?

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-26-2012
Message 3 of 7 (205 Views)

Re: Can Map 3D do what I need it to? ...

12-26-2012 12:37 PM in reply to: anna.pesola

As can be expected, I am having a hard time finding all the data I need.

 

So far, the maps are in these data types:

 

.BSB or KAP

Vector data files or Raster data files

Shapefiles, KMZ, or Metadata

 

I am not an experienced programmer so this information might not be translated with proper terminology. I will buy and work throughout the tutorials from AutoCAD and "A Practical Guide to AUTOCAD Map 3D 2013" so I can learn the program. I appreciate your feedback though because I don't really have the time to waste on a program that wont work. Ultimately, I will use this program to find probable locations for offshore wind parks and design the parks per location.

 

After skimming through GIS and mapping programs, these data types seem pretty typical. After watching the general Map 3D videos, it seems like Map 3D could translate these files, if I pick the right coordinate system. Does the "universal" coordinate system work well for something like this? I am assuming that the book and tutorials will help me answer such an introductory question (although critical to my success).

 

 

 
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,862
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 7 (195 Views)

Re: Can Map 3D do what I need it to? ...

12-26-2012 03:10 PM in reply to: anna.pesola

I would use one of the State Plane Coordinate systems for the state of Mich. As long as you know what CS the data is in Map3D can translate it for you.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Active Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-26-2012
Message 5 of 7 (191 Views)

Re: Can Map 3D do what I need it to? ...

12-26-2012 03:43 PM in reply to: anna.pesola

Thanks Murph.

 

I am starting to go through the tutorials now. I would need 4 State Plane Coordinate Systems to get all of Lake Michigan (WI, MI, IL, IN).  I briefly read about how to link the points between states CS. Thanks for the suggestion though, I will try that first.

 

I really appreciate your fast response. You saved me! Have you heard any reviews about the book I mentioned on my last post?

 

Anna 

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,489
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 6 of 7 (169 Views)

Re: Can Map 3D do what I need it to? ...

12-27-2012 12:17 AM in reply to: anna.pesola
Mrs.Anna, if you already know Autocad, the learning curve of Map release will be smooth. But, if you never managed with Autocad, you won't learn a master software like Map without a regular course. Moreover, if your goal is only to compose existing data, I would do that quickly by means of an easy opensource, e.g. QGis...
Active Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-26-2012
Message 7 of 7 (145 Views)

Re: Can Map 3D do what I need it to? ...

12-27-2012 08:45 PM in reply to: anna.pesola

I did download GMT... I guess I feel completely lost when I look at open source stuff. Maybe QGis is different (?).

 

I do know how to do simple drawing in AutoCAD so the familiarity is nice. For that reason, I think the learning curve is less intimidating. I look forward to getting better at AutoCAD in my career so I don't mind learning Map 3D if it can do what I need it to.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community