AutoCAD Map 3D General

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-10-2004
Message 1 of 10 (1,998 Views)

COnvert Polylines to 3D Solid without loosing object data.

1998 Views, 9 Replies
09-15-2011 07:48 AM

Hi,

is there any possiblity to convert the Polylines containing object data to a 3D Solid so that the object are also copied?

thanks,

Martin

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,484
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 10 (1,996 Views)

Betreff: COnvert Polylines to 3D Solid without loosing object data.

09-15-2011 07:56 AM in reply to: maherich

Hi,

 

I'm not sure to understand that in detail.

To convert a Polyline to a SOLID (with commands like _LOFT, _EXTRUDE, ...) will not transfer the object-data from the polylline to the solid. Never, at least never without development.

However there is a sysvar DELOBJ (for details look >>>here<<<) that controls if the polyline will be thrown after convertion to SOLID or will be kept in the drawing-database. And in case the poly will not be erase, you will have at least the original object and attached to that the origial ObjectData.

 

HTH, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,493
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 3 of 10 (1,988 Views)

Re: COnvert Polylines to 3D Solid without loosing object data.

09-15-2011 12:02 PM in reply to: maherich

Trivial workaround: instead of extruding those polylines, change their values of THICKNESS.

It won't be a true 3D (I'd call it 2.5D) but you'll keep the Object_data... 

Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-10-2004
Message 4 of 10 (1,977 Views)

Re: COnvert Polylines to 3D Solid without loosing object data.

09-15-2011 12:42 PM in reply to: antoniovinci

That's what I have done in the first step. I am creating the 3d buildings out of their ground polylines. I have to keep the object data as I need to connect the created 3d buildings to the database afterwards. The ID needed for the correction is stored in the object data.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,493
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 5 of 10 (1,971 Views)

Re: COnvert Polylines to 3D Solid without loosing object data.

09-15-2011 10:42 PM in reply to: maherich

maherich wrote:

That's what I have done in the first step


Sir, in the first  step you were talking about "3D solids" and not about "thick polylines"...

 

If your database contains the height of buildings, you may give automatically thickness to them, by means of a "draw query".

 

But remember (I repeat it for the second and last time): the final effect will be 2.5D and not true 3D. 

Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-10-2004
Message 6 of 10 (1,964 Views)

Re: COnvert Polylines to 3D Solid without loosing object data.

09-15-2011 10:56 PM in reply to: antoniovinci

My first question was about the whole problematics.

What I have already succsefully done is the "thickness" solution. But it is not what I need. I know you can make it better using some hatch with elevation but I really need those "boxes" as buildings. And the only way I have found to create them is to use the _convtosolid on the polylines with thickness. The created building solids are exactly what I need. But they lack the object data. Therefore the question...

It looks like I will write some little app to process one polyline after another so that I can also copy the object data after each conversion.

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,493
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 7 of 10 (1,961 Views)

Re: COnvert Polylines to 3D Solid without loosing object data.

09-16-2011 12:14 AM in reply to: maherich

I don't believe in miracles, but if you'll really make such an application able to "inject" Object_Data in 3Dsolid, we might pay for it, sir.

 

By the way, when someone needs from me 3D effect with full GIS information, I convert my DWG objects in KMZ  format file, to use only in Google Earth.

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,484
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 8 of 10 (1,958 Views)

Re: COnvert Polylines to 3D Solid without loosing object data.

09-16-2011 12:43 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Hi,

 

>> but if you'll really make such an application able to "inject" Object_Data in 3Dsolid, we might pay for it, sir.

Let us know what you need. I don't see a problem to combine an extrude-command with copying the ObjectData. That's done within a view minutes.

The flexibility of such a tool may explode the dev-hours. So for example what command do you use to create 3D-Solids out of 2D-geometry holding ODs? (LOFT, REVOLVE, ...)

Second questions raises up when you not only create 3D-SOLIDS but you work with them ... so what sould happen if you subtract or intersect or do a union-modification  ==> what should happen to the OD? Should they stay on each history-part of the objects or should the OD of the first SOLID stay and from the second one should be removed/erased? Or (I'm afraid of) should both OD-records ba attached to the resulting 3D-SOLID, what's not valid out of rules of Map3D?

 

Give me some input (wishes, specs), the weekend comes up and there may be a few hours left :smileywink:

 

- alfred -

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,493
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 9 of 10 (1,954 Views)

Re: COnvert Polylines to 3D Solid without loosing object data.

09-16-2011 12:55 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

alfred.neswadba wrote:

Let us know what you need


Hold your horses, gentleman, I think this is not a commercial forum...

In the meanwhile, I suppose that Mr.Maherich would be interested by your offer.  

If you say that's an easy thing to accomplish, I will try by myself.

Vielen Dank

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,484
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 10 of 10 (1,952 Views)

Re: COnvert Polylines to 3D Solid without loosing object data.

09-16-2011 01:01 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Hi,

 

>> Hold your horses, gentleman, I think this is not a commercial forum...

Have I said anything like "you have to pay it"? As long as there are just a few minutes or it's just for fun (because of very interesting ... or I do need it for myself ... or ...) I dosometimes things without sending an invoice :smileywink:

 

>> If you say that's an easy thing to accomplish, I will try by myself.

To attach the data ... yes, to handle the ODs during SOLID-modification-commands ==> exciting, but IMHO not as easy :smileywink:

 

-. alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community