AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
erictsn001
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-10-2006
Message 1 of 11 (131 Views)

Buffer creation

131 Views, 10 Replies
11-22-2007 01:28 AM
I have a hundred of points which have associated to a db; how I can generate the buffer for each point which the buffer size is accord to the specific column of the db? Can it do that?

Thanks
Active Member
mikeknud
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-20-2007
Message 2 of 11 (131 Views)

Re: Buffer creation

11-22-2007 01:39 AM in reply to: erictsn001
Dono if that can be done, but an alternative is to create circles of all points with the diameter you specified. Then create a topology from that.
Contributor
erictsn001
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-10-2006
Message 3 of 11 (131 Views)

Re: Buffer creation

11-23-2007 01:00 AM in reply to: erictsn001
Hi Mikeknud
Could you talk more detail how to do? /Thanks
Active Member
mikeknud
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-20-2007
Message 4 of 11 (131 Views)

Re: Buffer creation

11-23-2007 02:12 AM in reply to: erictsn001
You could create a lisp routine or make a script which creates circles with the diameter and centerpoint from your database.

Script for 2 points with diameter would look like:

CIRCLE
123,456
DIAMETER
2.10
CIRCLE
222,444
DIAMETER
6.40

Then create a topology of the circles to use for a eg. a buffer.
*David Parker
Message 5 of 11 (131 Views)

Re: Buffer creation

11-23-2007 03:06 AM in reply to: erictsn001
eric

Provided the points are in a database you may be able to query the database
creating new information from present data which could then serve as the
source for Map to do analysis.

dave


wrote in message news:5783947@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have a hundred of points which have associated to a db; how I can generate
the buffer for each point which the buffer size is accord to the specific
column of the db? Can it do that?

Thanks
Distinguished Contributor
drazen-ars
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 6 of 11 (131 Views)

Re: Buffer creation

11-24-2007 12:57 PM in reply to: erictsn001
Hi Erictsn,

If I well understand you have in the drawing points which are connected to the database and in one database field there is buffer distance which vary.

If this is so, your problem is very simple to solve.

1. Create point topology
2. Start topology analysis, buffer analysis. There you can define constant buffer value but also you can show to appropriate field in connected database

If you do not have points in the drawing or points are not through link template connected to the database I suggest that you insert somehow (some additional programs) points as block with attribute of the name of the point. That attribute you can use to connect automatically to the database. Then you can start buffer analysis with the value from database.

Drazen Galic
d.galic@studioars.hr
www.studioars.com
Distinguished Contributor
JohnPM
Posts: 658
Registered: ‎04-29-2007
Message 7 of 11 (131 Views)

Re: Buffer creation

11-25-2007 10:59 AM in reply to: erictsn001
I tried the same and was only able to get the point buffer analysis to buffer the using the first field in the linked database. It would ignore the other field values. I assumed it would read all the field entries since each point was linked manually to its linked field value. The analysis resulted in a buffer around all the points and not individually.

John
*James Murphy
Message 8 of 11 (131 Views)

Re: Buffer creation

11-25-2007 03:02 PM in reply to: erictsn001
I have not tried it with a db link but with OD it works.

--

Murph
The world is not FLAT so why is your GIS data?
http://map3d.wordpress.com
wrote in message news:5784890@discussion.autodesk.com...
I tried the same and was only able to get the point buffer analysis to
buffer the using the first field in the linked database. It would ignore the
other field values. I assumed it would read all the field entries since each
point was linked manually to its linked field value. The analysis resulted
in a buffer around all the points and not individually.

John
Distinguished Contributor
drazen-ars
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 9 of 11 (131 Views)

Re: Buffer creation

11-26-2007 02:43 AM in reply to: erictsn001
Dear John,

I tried to do it, and seems that everything is functioning. If I well understand your problem.
I attached the picture of my screen. I have 5 points and MDB database which second column has different buffer values. When I make buffer analysis it is visible that 5 different points have 5 different buffer values (from 10 to 35).

Drazen Galic
d.galic@studioars.hr
www.studioars.com
Contributor
erictsn001
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-10-2006
Message 10 of 11 (131 Views)

Re: Buffer creation

12-10-2007 02:23 AM in reply to: erictsn001
Hi Drazen,

After I saw your attachment, I have idea how to work it out. I export all object with attribute to sdf file and do mapimport to import the sdf object to new dwg. And then create node topology. Finally I can create buffer which is according the OD attribute.

But it seems quite slow, do yours expert know any good solution?

Thanks in advance.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.