AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

rifraf700
Message 1 of 4 (403 Views)

AutoCad Map 3d lidar bumps

403 Views, 3 Replies
09-25-2012 09:39 PM

Hi,

I am new with this point cloud thingy. I managed to get my hands on some lidar data and i am looking to build a 3d cad model of the buildings from that data. I have played around with the features of AutoCad Map 3D but i'm having some difficulties. I managed to create an index file and from there, created a 3d surface. However, instead of getting nice buildings like the one video on youtube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6mprICpGtbk), i got lots of spikes. Is there a way i can somehow churn all these spikes into something that looks like a decent building. Also i need to export the 3d surface but i see that the only option is the sdf extension. Is there a way i can get a tin file?

any sort of help will be deeply appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Rif

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Message 2 of 4 (394 Views)

Re: AutoCad Map 3d lidar bumps

09-25-2012 11:33 PM in reply to: rifraf700

There's no way to convert point clouds into straight buildings, 'cause a raw Lidar survey is disturbed by trees, pylons, shadows, and so on.

You could transform that bunch of bumps in a better Tin fashion (but not good-looking) e.g. by means of the opensource Meshlab, sir.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Message 3 of 4 (367 Views)

09-26-2012 03:02 PM in reply to: rifraf700

Is the data classified? Look at the video at the 3:55 min timeline and on. 

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Mentor
autoMick
Message 4 of 4 (346 Views)

09-28-2012 05:36 AM in reply to: rifraf700

I think the big thing from that video is that they only used the ground strike data to create a surface (i.e. they filtered the cloud data before creating a surface from it). The details you see for the building themselves are just the raw point cloud (not actual geometry). 

Cheers

- Mick

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2014
Self-built i7-3930K, 16Gb RAM, P9X79 m/board