AutoCAD Map 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Map 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Map 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AutoCad Map 3D - Attach Data Source

12 REPLIES 12
Message 1 of 13
klaff
655 Views, 12 Replies

AutoCad Map 3D - Attach Data Source

i have 12 base maps (transportation.dwg, utilities.dwg, etc) and each of these base maps is attached to a data source (.mdb).  when creating a new drawing and inserting these basemaps in the Task Pane by Attach Drawings & Query, i loose the connection to the data source in the new drawing

is there a way to have the datasource carry through and retain the attachment to new drawing?

also, in alot of maps we create we Xref (Transportation.dwg) and we loose the datasource in that situation too.

i'm new at this so hopefully my question makes sense.

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
thepworth
in reply to: klaff

you'll have to save out the data source as a "layer" which in Map3D terms is different from a CAD layer.  right click on the data source in the display manager and "save as layer" then you can drag & drop the .layer file into your workspace in subsequent drawings and retain the connection and pull across the styling.  why it can't be called "GIS data pointer" versus layer, dunno but it does afford more confusion 😉

Does this help?

Message 3 of 13
thepworth
in reply to: thepworth

oh, an no you can't pull through GIS data with xrefs 😞

just not programmed that way

Message 4 of 13
klaff

thanks for your time...i'll figure all this out someday:smileyindifferent :

Message 5 of 13
klaff

unless i'm reading your response incorrectly, you think i'm working on these maps in ArcMap.  my coworkers do not know how to use ArcMap so i'm stuck having these remain working AutoCAD 3D drawings.  i am viewing the drawing in AutoCAD 3D and am in the Task Pane.