AutoCAD Map 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Map 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Map 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AutoCAD Map 3D 2013 - Editing DXF maps

13 REPLIES 13
Message 1 of 14
lmclaughlin
814 Views, 13 Replies

AutoCAD Map 3D 2013 - Editing DXF maps

Those of you in the Oil & Gas biz - please help! I'm new to AutoCAD, and especially new to AutoCAD Map 3D. I need to make a plat showing a well location. When using Petra or DrillingInfo, a map can br printed to a DXF. DrillingInfo puts out a DXF with just the 0 layer, and the well spots come in as polyline circles. The DXF Petra puts out opens with different layers and symbology, which I like. It's just that the well spots are blocks, which I do not understand. When I open the Petra map with AutoCAD Map 3D, my well spots are unitless block references, and are tiny specks. I need to resize them so they can be seen. Why can't I figure this out?? 

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
fieldguy
in reply to: lmclaughlin

Your blocks are using different units.  They are being scaled (0.293).  You can change the scale in the properties window (all 4 at once since they have different names).  That is a quick and easy fix for a 1 off.

A more permanent fix is to make sure the block definitions are using the same units.  Note that this just doesn't work with lat/long.

Message 3 of 14
lmclaughlin
in reply to: fieldguy

I tried changing the x and y scales to 100, and it still doesn't seem to change. Does the Block Unit being "Unitless" have an effect on this?

Thanks for your help!
Message 4 of 14
fieldguy

NP.  You have to make sure the units are "unitless" before you dxfin (create a template if you have to do this several times).