AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
20090927
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-31-2009
Message 1 of 3 (211 Views)

Attribute Domain

211 Views, 2 Replies
07-31-2009 08:30 AM
I am utilizing the ESRI ArcGIS for AutoCAD plugin to edit feature attributes in AutoCAD Map 3D 2009.

Is there a way to control/restrict available attribute values, similar to a Domain in an ArcGIS Geodatabase?

The .dwg I'm editing was created from a personal Geodatabase by using the 'Export to CAD' tool in ArcGIS 9.3.1 basesd on SDSFIE schema, so maintaining consistent attribute values is imperative.

Thanks for any and all help.
Valued Mentor
jackie.ng
Posts: 273
Registered: ‎10-06-2008
Message 2 of 3 (211 Views)

Re: Attribute Domain

08-02-2009 11:51 PM in reply to: 20090927
FDO supports list and range value constraints. But there are two things to note:

1) There's no FDO provider for ArcGIS, however there is FDO providers for ArcSDE and SHP files.
2) List and Range value constraint support varies from provider to provider.

- Jackie
New Member
gingerrc4
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-26-2013
Message 3 of 3 (84 Views)

Re: Attribute Domain

12-26-2013 11:12 AM in reply to: 20090927

I noticed this was an old thread and I thought I would check in and see if anything has changed.  I too am using ArcGIS for AutoCAD to connect to a feature service running on ArcGIS Server.  The feature service is actually a feature class in an enterprise geodatabase.  It would be nice to edit the attributes for the feature service from Map 3d (2012, 2014) and still have access to the geodatabase domains.  Is this possible with some customization on the AutoCAD side?

 

Thanks,

Robyn

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community