AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Map 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
PatrickManson
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎09-21-2004
Message 1 of 9 (194 Views)

Area Precision

194 Views, 8 Replies
05-13-2013 02:47 PM

I have defined map annotation text which shows a Lot number and an area. The data is attached to the polyline, and the Lot number is manually entered in via the properties pallete. The area field comes from the area of the polyline. I am struggling to figure out how to get the area shown to 0 decimal places, and also to add a m² suffix to all of the areas.

 

Can anyone help with this?

 

Cheers, Patrick

Valued Contributor
PatrickManson
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎09-21-2004
Message 2 of 9 (191 Views)

Re: Area Precision

05-13-2013 03:02 PM in reply to: PatrickManson

Ok, i have figured out the precision - but can anyone help to add the m² suffix?

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,946
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 9 (166 Views)

Re: Area Precision

05-14-2013 04:24 AM in reply to: PatrickManson

If you are using map anno blocks I would use Mtext for M2  (M\u+214A) and right justification for the attribute.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Valued Contributor
PatrickManson
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎09-21-2004
Message 4 of 9 (153 Views)

Re: Area Precision

05-14-2013 01:34 PM in reply to: PatrickManson

Hi Murph, thanks for the reply. I have defined the template using mapanntext, the first line picks up the Lot number previously defined, and the second line picks up the area of the polyline. I am not sure how to add the area of the polyline as a field to mtext in the block editor as you cannot select the polyline to link it to using that method. I cannot add the m² to the end of that as mtext as it is not linked to the size of the area, so if you have a large area it is over the top of the m².

 

My mapanntext is (rtos .area), how can i add that as a field into a mtext?

 

Thanks, Patrick

Valued Contributor
PatrickManson
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎09-21-2004
Message 5 of 9 (148 Views)

Re: Area Precision

05-14-2013 02:12 PM in reply to: PatrickManson

I have finally figured this out. This is expression value in the mapanntext dialog

 

(strcat (RTOS .AREA 2 0) "m²")

 

Thanks for your help everyone.

 

Patrick

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,946
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 9 (140 Views)

Re: Area Precision

05-14-2013 04:38 PM in reply to: PatrickManson

PatrickManson wrote:

I have finally figured this out. This is expression value in the mapanntext dialog

 

(strcat (RTOS .AREA 2 0) "m²")

 

Thanks for your help everyone.

 

Patrick


I tried that way as well but couldn't get the 2  on the M2 to half size. :smileyhappy:

As for the scale of the mtext uae the same size as the attributte then when you insert use scale option and scale based on the area.

 

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,636
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 7 of 9 (124 Views)

Re: Area Precision

05-15-2013 03:09 AM in reply to: Murph

Murph wrote:
I tried that way as well but couldn't get the 2  on the M2 to half size 

Here you have the right Unicode syntax, my dear:

(strcat (RTOS .AREA 2 0) "m\U+00B2")

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,946
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 9 (117 Views)

Re: Area Precision

05-15-2013 04:31 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

antoniovinci wrote:

Murph wrote:
I tried that way as well but couldn't get the 2  on the M2 to half size 

Here you have the right Unicode syntax, my dear:

(strcat (RTOS .AREA 2 0) "m\U+00B2")


Thanks sweety.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,636
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 9 of 9 (105 Views)

Re: Area Precision

05-15-2013 09:20 AM in reply to: Murph

For the newbies, the full list of Unicode codes is available by means of:

WIN-R => CHARMAP

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.