AutoCAD MEP Wishes

Reply
New Member
DR.WICK
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-03-2003
Message 1 of 13 (117 Views)

DEVICE COUNT

117 Views, 12 Replies
09-18-2003 03:59 AM
I use to have a block count file that would list all blocks in a dwg. and give the quantity of each block. Building systems3 does not use blocks, its all devices. Is there a way to list all the "devices" within a dwg specifying "system names", "style names" as well as quantity?
*[Autodesk], Hakan Wikemar
Message 2 of 13 (117 Views)

Re: DEVICE COUNT

09-22-2003 04:24 PM in reply to: DR.WICK
Hi Wick!

 

I don't really know how you want the result
presented or how your block count file worked. Do you want an external file that
shedules all your devices or is it enough to have them presented in the dwg? If
so h
ave you tried to use the property set
definitions and shedule table functions to create a table in the drawing? If you
do so you can right-click on the table and exprt the info to a txt or a xls
file.

 

commands:

aecstylemanager - documentation objects -
property sets and shedule tables, (add a property set that applies to devices
and that includes the automatic properties: style and system, then create a new
shedule style that applies to devices, with the columns style and system + check
the include quantity column)

apply the propertyset to all your devices through
the properties pallette - extended data tab

tableadd - choose your table style - include all
devices - add your shedule table

 

 

 

If you want to just extract info of all the devices
directly to a txt file or something you will probbably need to write a vba macro
or something.

 

Please let me know a bit more of what you need
and I'll try to help you.

/Hakan (QA)

 


 

 

 


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
use to have a block count file that would list all blocks in a dwg. and give
the quantity of each block. Building systems3 does not use blocks, its all
devices. Is there a way to list all the "devices" within a dwg specifying
"system names", "style names" as well as quantity?
*[Autodesk], Hakan Wikemar
Message 3 of 13 (117 Views)

Re:

09-24-2003 09:58 PM in reply to: DR.WICK

Hi again!

 

I made a small vba file you could try to get an
idea of what you can do and how.

Just do a vbaload and vbarun to try it. (vbaman to
edit)

 

Posting it under the same heading in Customer files
area.

/Hakan 


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">

Hi Wick!

 

I don't really know how you want the result
presented or how your block count file worked. Do you want an external file
that shedules all your devices or is it enough to have them presented in the
dwg? If so h
ave you tried to use the property
set definitions and shedule table functions to create a table in the drawing?
If you do so you can right-click on the table and exprt the info to a txt or a
xls file.

 

commands:

aecstylemanager - documentation objects -
property sets and shedule tables, (add a property set that applies to devices
and that includes the automatic properties: style and system, then create a
new shedule style that applies to devices, with the columns style and system +
check the include quantity column)

apply the propertyset to all your devices through
the properties pallette - extended data tab

tableadd - choose your table style - include all
devices - add your shedule
table

 

 

 

If you want to just extract info of all the
devices directly to a txt file or something you will probbably need to write a
vba macro or something.

 

Please let me know a bit more of what you
need and I'll try to help you.

/Hakan (QA)

 


 

 

 


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
use to have a block count file that would list all blocks in a dwg. and give
the quantity of each block. Building systems3 does not use blocks, its all
devices. Is there a way to list all the "devices" within a dwg specifying
"system names", "style names" as well as
quantity?
Active Contributor
WICK
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 4 of 13 (117 Views)

Re: DEVICE COUNT

10-03-2003 01:19 AM in reply to: DR.WICK
Not to sound ignorant, I just started using "Building Systems" and I have no idea how to do what you are sugesting, but it sounds like there is no easy way to count devices in a drawing. I dont need to put this info into a table, but I need it to get a basic count for reference. The only other way that I know of is to print out the drawing and count each individual device. This can take hours and there is the possibility of missing a couple.
*[Autodesk], Hakan Wikemar
Message 5 of 13 (117 Views)

Re:

10-05-2003 06:58 PM in reply to: DR.WICK
I'm sorry if I wasn't clear enough in my first
reply.

 

What I was trying to say was that you can do a
couple of things to count the devices in the drawing.

 

a. You can set up schedule tables that count your
devices and have them presented in your drawing. If you just want them for
reference you can just delete them after you have used them.

b. Or you can run a script that I put together that
creates a txt file which lists all the devices in the dwg.

 

I'll try and describe the procedures as detailed as
possible, if you have any questions don't hesitate to ask.
 

 

commands to write on the command line in
italic

a.

While it may look like big task to set up the
schedule tables it's quite easy and you can later on reuse these settings in
other dwg's by just copying the property sets and schedule table styles to every
new drawing, or save them in your template dwg.

 

1. aecstylemanager, look for Property Set
Definitions in the left pane, right-click and select NEW. Name it to something
appropriate such as Device.

2. Select the new Property set in the right pane,
right-click and select Edit

3. Select the tab Applies To, Click Clear all,
scroll down in the all objects list and select Device

4. Change too Definition Tab, Click on Add
Automatic.... Select Style and Click OK, Click on Add Automatic...
again Select System and Click OK

5. Click OK, (We have now created a property set
that can be attached to devices)

6. Still in the Style Manager, look for Schedule
Table Styles, Right-Click and select New and name it to something appropriate
such as Device Schedule.

7. Right-Click on the New Style and select
Edit...

8. Select the
tab Applies To, Click Clear all, scroll down in the all objects list and select
Device

9. Select the Columns Tab and Select the Include
Quantity Column.

10. Click Add Column...
select Style (probably selected by default) in the left hand side and
click OK, then Click Add Column... again and select System and Click
OK.

11. Click OK. (We have now created the schedule
style which includes Quantity, Style and System on devices) 

12. Return to your dwg (select ok to exit the style
manager.)

13. Select all devices (for ex use Ctrl+a,
and right-click and choose quick select, select device in the dropdown
and hit ok.

14. When you have all devices selected;
right-click and select Device Properties.

15. In the General Tab Click Property Sets...,
Click Add... (you should now see the name of the Property Set you created) make
sure your property set is selected and click ok, then ok and ok.

We have now Attached the property sets to our
devices (you will have to add property sets to every additional device you
insert to the drawing but you can always select all devices and add again to
make sure you have added them to all devices)

16. tableadd, Select your Schedule table
style and select the Add New objects automatically and Automatic Update.
OK.

17. Select the whole dwg surface, Place The
schedule.

 

If you save this dwg, you can through the
aecstylemanager copy and paste the table style and Property set
definitions into other dwg's.

 

b.

1. Get my ElecCount.zip file from the
autodesk.autocad.customer-files (Under DEVICE COUNT header) unzip it and save
the ElecCount.dvb file somewhere.

2. vbaload, browse to the file and load
it. (if a question comes up about running macros select Enable
Macros)

3. vbarun, Run.

4. Select Save As.. and navigate somewhere
where you want to save the txt file.

5. Quit the Script and look at the txt file.

 

If you rather would like to have the # of devices
presented in a dialog box or something let me know and I'll see what I can
do.

 

Thanks

/Hakan

 

 


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Not
to sound ignorant, I just started using "Building Systems" and I have no idea
how to do what you are sugesting, but it sounds like there is no easy way to
count devices in a drawing. I dont need to put this info into a table, but I
need it to get a basic count for reference. The only other way that I know of
is to print out the drawing and count each individual device. This can take
hours and there is the possibility of missing a
couple.
Active Contributor
WICK
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 6 of 13 (117 Views)

Re:

10-09-2003 04:11 AM in reply to: DR.WICK
Thank you for the vba file!!! It works better than the block count that I used up until R2002. Not that its important, is there a way to tweak the file so that it will group the devices together? Such as all the lighting together, all power, fire alarm, and so on?

Once again, THANK YOU!!
You saved me a lot of time with this file!
Active Contributor
WICK
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 7 of 13 (117 Views)

Re:

12-06-2005 02:48 PM in reply to: DR.WICK
Hello Hakan,

You had helped me with this device count dvb file. I now have ASB2005 and it is telling me that it cant find a project or a library. I don't know if this file is compatible with 2005, if something needs to be re-written or if a new file needs to be created all together in order for it to work in 2005. Any suggestions?

Thanks!
Employee
martin.schmid
Posts: 1,297
Registered: ‎11-16-2005
Message 8 of 13 (117 Views)

Re:

01-15-2006 10:26 AM in reply to: DR.WICK
Hi Wick-

Chances are you need to update the references in the VBA project. To do this, enter VBAIDE. From the Tools menu, select References... What references you need to select depends on what Objects were used in the project... but likely that you will at least need:
AEC Building Systems 4.5 Base Object Library
and perhaps:
AEC Building Systems 4.5 Application Library.

Hope this helps,
MS


Martin Schmid, P.E.
Product Manager - Revit MEP
Architecture, Engineering, and Construction
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
WICK
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎12-03-2003
Message 9 of 13 (117 Views)

Re:

01-17-2006 09:13 AM in reply to: DR.WICK
Thank you MS!

I guess I had some missing files, but this fixed my problem. My next question is, is there a way that I can run this and have all my devices grouped together. For example: list all of my "power devices" together, all "fire alarm devices" together, all "lighting devices" grouped together and so on? I also wanted to know if there is a way to display my "device count" within the AutoCAD text window, as opposed to having it exported to a separate file. I am not very familiar with the VBA, so please bare with me.

Thanks again!

Wick
Employee
martin.schmid
Posts: 1,297
Registered: ‎11-16-2005
Message 10 of 13 (117 Views)

Re:

01-17-2006 10:00 AM in reply to: DR.WICK
Wick--

I don't readily see a way to get the Classification information (lighting, power, fire alarm, etc...) via VBA. The alternate way I see to do this is via a Schedule. You can define the schedule to sort by the Device Type (Classification). Refer to the attached.

If I learn that it is possible via VBA, I'll post back to this forum.


Martin Schmid, P.E.
Product Manager - Revit MEP
Architecture, Engineering, and Construction
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community