Community
AutoCAD MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

orientation issues for the newbie

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
bil-with-one-L
506 Views, 10 Replies

orientation issues for the newbie

Hello All,

I've mentioned before that I'm new to ABS, not to mention ADT, so I hope this question isn't a dumb one. --

I'm adding horizontal duct (24"wx8"h) to an existing vertical run (24"wx20"d). I'm adding it in a plan view, my compass is parallel to that plane, but it keeps forcing my new duct to attach as if it's 8"wx24"h. --

what I've really been hoping would happen is that a lovely 90 degree, mitered, transitional elbow would simply connect the vertical run to the horizontal run and then I could move on to the next task. --

what's been happing over the last 8 hours would require a book to explain and in brief I obviously am doing something wrong. --

I'm signed up for training in August but I would like to get this small job done using ABS to put my bosses at ease (i convinced them to upgrade from ACAD2002 LT). --

So I'm open to any thoughts on what I'm probably doing wrong, since I doubt that the program is doing something wrong. --

Thanks to any and all advice.
10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
bduvall
in reply to: bil-with-one-L

I would change to isometric view and draw the duct. As you are drawing, you can enter "P" to change the orientation of your drawing plane of your compass. Also note, when inserting fittings, "B" will change the base point of the insertion point. Good luck. Hang in there. You made a wise choice of upgrading.
Message 3 of 11

I'll try that... thanks
Message 4 of 11
jmcfaddn

Get a refund while you still have a chance, wait for another 4 upgrades, then consider buying.
Message 5 of 11

ouch! --