AutoCAD MEP General

Reply
Valued Contributor
mjmpe
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎02-14-2011
Message 1 of 3 (476 Views)

how do you add more pipe sizes to the tool palette

476 Views, 2 Replies
03-19-2013 04:58 AM

I am trying to figure out how to work this MEP. Do I want to set pipe sizes to my tool palette? and if I do, how do I go about doing that.

 

thanks

Valued Contributor
s.lawrence
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎04-18-2011
Message 2 of 3 (464 Views)

Re: how do you add more pipe sizes to the tool palette

03-19-2013 10:00 AM in reply to: mjmpe

Pipe sizes are controlled in 'style manager/piping objects/pipe part routing preference-prefernces tab.

From here you can define pipe sizes, pipe types and the fittings that match that system.

 

To choose what system you are drawing is all controlled on the properties pallette.

HTH,

 

Stu

*Expert Elite*
Keith.Brown
Posts: 1,074
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Message 3 of 3 (458 Views)

Re: how do you add more pipe sizes to the tool palette

03-19-2013 10:26 AM in reply to: s.lawrence

I think you are talking about the TOOL palette and not the PROPERTY palette.  They are two different palettes.  To add a size to the tool palette the easiest thing to do is right click and copy an existing size.  Right click again in an empty space in the palette and select paste this time.  You can click and drag the new tool anywhere in the palette that you want.  Right click again on the new tool and this time select properties.  This will bring up the property dialog for the tool you selected.  Here you can change the name of the tool, the size of the pipe, the routing preference, the system definition ect.  This is basically a carbon copy of the settings that you would select on the PROPERTY palette.  The difference is that by setting them here in your tool you won't have to set them on the property palette.  They will be preset by the tool.  You can still make any changes on the property palette if you wish after you start the tool.  The tool is just something to help you get started in selecting the right properties for your palette.

 

Hopefully this anwers your question.

 

 


Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate. Thank you!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community