AutoCAD MEP General

Reply
Member
ctindall
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-03-2013
Message 1 of 12 (873 Views)

OBJRELUPDATE required too often

873 Views, 11 Replies
02-03-2013 02:58 PM

OBJRELUPDATE is required each time we open a drawing in order to display hidden lines where ductwork crosses.  This glitch really impacts Publishing, since we cannot include drawings with MEP objects when using Publish to print or create PDFs.  Those drawings have to the printed separately.

 

Can this be corrected without customizing lisp routines?  A post from 2002 mentions that OBJRELUPDATE should only be required infrequently.  It also mentions a registry setting that eliminates the need to OBJRELUPDATE.  What is that registry setting?!

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Architectural-Desktop/objrelupdate/td-p/541227

 

If this cannot be corrected, can someone from Autodesk explain why there is not a setting to apply an OBJRELUPDATE automatically when a drawing is opened or published?

 

Thank you in advance.

 

 

Valued Contributor
s.lawrence
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎04-18-2011
Message 2 of 12 (866 Views)

Re: OBJRELUPDATE required too often

02-03-2013 11:28 PM in reply to: ctindall

We are also having this problem; I draw all services in a model, then Xref that model into the respective M, E & P drawings. Each drawing has all the services not required switched off, but, as you say, everytime I reopen the drawing I have to run OBJRELUPDATE and often a regen as well to lose hidden lines. It is incredibly frustrating and I've had the problem since 2009. If anybody has a solution I'd be very interested to hear it!

 

Stu

Product Support
Joshua.Benoist
Posts: 517
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 3 of 12 (840 Views)

Re: OBJRELUPDATE required too often

02-06-2013 08:24 AM in reply to: s.lawrence

Show us some examples.  That would help to socialize out the issue you describe.  I remember this being an issue back in the 2009 days, but it was resolved in 2010 and later releases.  Can you make us a video on the current 2013 release indicating when and under what workflows it occurs?

Thanks,

Joshua

 

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Member
ctindall
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-03-2013
Message 4 of 12 (827 Views)

Re: OBJRELUPDATE required too often

02-06-2013 12:09 PM in reply to: Joshua.Benoist

Joshua,

 

I'd like to send you a file and attachments which have this issue.  I can't post it here because the file size is 4.3MB.   The file is ready to be sent, I just need an email address.  Please reach out to me at ctindall /at/ mcparlane /dot/ com or call me at the office. 

 

Thanks!

 

Chris Tindall

Member
ctindall
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-03-2013
Message 5 of 12 (808 Views)

Re: OBJRELUPDATE required too often

02-08-2013 06:24 PM in reply to: ctindall

This is an update to the forum... Joshua has received a drawing that experiences this issue.  The same thing happened on this end, so he has esclated this to some development managers.  He is going to advocate to get this changed.  Thanks Joshua!

Valued Contributor
s.lawrence
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎04-18-2011
Message 6 of 12 (758 Views)

Re: OBJRELUPDATE required too often

02-22-2013 06:36 AM in reply to: ctindall

As a side note that will need investigating....I mentioned that everytime we open a drawing that has layers that are not required switched off, we have to do an OBJRELUPDATE on that drawing to make it display correctly.

I've found that if I then bind the drawing in order to send it out, all the gaps, hidden lines etc reappear and OBJRELUPDATE no longer works. I'm having to send out the final drawing and the model instead, and it's leading to confusion with those 'less CAD-savvy' than ourselves.

Also, Joshua, if I bind the drawing I sent you over a few weeks ago then every light in the drawing goes missing.

 

Have you come up with any workarounds that could fix this? It's starting to get very frustrating.

 

Thanks.,

Stu

Product Support
Joshua.Benoist
Posts: 517
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 7 of 12 (756 Views)

Re: OBJRELUPDATE required too often

02-22-2013 06:49 AM in reply to: ctindall

We sense your frustration and understand.  We don't want to make it worse by trying to make it better in a rush.  No workarounds at the moment.  The workaround IS to use OBJRELUPDATE before printing.  This may be too deep to be fixed safely in a current release.  Would not want to take two steps forward and five back. We are working to address this issue in a future release where we can thoroughly test.  No promises and no timetable can be given.

Thank you,

Joshua



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
s.lawrence
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎04-18-2011
Message 8 of 12 (462 Views)

Re: OBJRELUPDATE required too often

04-29-2013 06:42 AM in reply to: Joshua.Benoist

Hi All,

 

Just wanted to catch up on this issue; has this been resolved in 2014, or even in 2013? I'm still running 2012 at the moment and wondered if I could sort this problem by upgrading to 2014. We're forever printing off drawings where all services have gaps, bits of line, etc missing and we're finding it very frustrating.

 

Ta

Stu

 

 

Product Support
Joshua.Benoist
Posts: 517
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 9 of 12 (457 Views)

Re: OBJRELUPDATE required too often

04-29-2013 07:04 AM in reply to: ctindall

The plotting "missing line" aspect of issue was resolved in 2013 (Actually 2012 SP-2).  Just set the system variable HIDEPRECISION to 1.  (Not sure this HIDEPRECISION sysvar defaults to 1 just yet.  I'll mention it to the developers.)

 

The OBJRELUPDATE aspect of this issue was resolved in 2014.  We trigger a model update a lot more frequently and after a file open, file save, switching layout tabs, xreffing in files, changing a property on the Layer Manager, etc.  I'm hoping the changes we made in 2014 eliminate this once and for all.

 

For those that have 2014, give it a shot and report back here.

Thanks!

 

Joshua



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
s.lawrence
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎04-18-2011
Message 10 of 12 (443 Views)

Re: OBJRELUPDATE required too often

04-30-2013 01:09 AM in reply to: Joshua.Benoist

If it works I will be one happy camper! I'm loading 2014 on this week, will report back when I get to give it a try.

 

Ta!

Stu

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community