AutoCAD MEP General

Reply
Active Contributor
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎11-01-2004
Message 1 of 6 (1,700 Views)

Keyboard shortcuts not what's in acad.pgp

1700 Views, 5 Replies
04-21-2011 02:41 PM

I just upgraded to AutoCAD MEP 2012. After some finaggling, I got it to behave how I like it to. However, I'm having a problem with the acad.pgp file.

 

For example, when I enter D on the keyboard, it initiates the DIST command. However, I want D to initiate the OFFSET command. When I go to Tools > Customize > Edit Program Parameters, D is set to DIMSTYLE. At the bottom of the file, it lists "User Defined Command Aliases" and D, *OFFSET is listed there.

 

But why is AutoCAD running DIST for the D shortcut? Is it looking at a different PGP file than I am?

Valued Contributor
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 2 of 6 (1,689 Views)

Re: Keyboard shortcuts not what's in acad.pgp

04-22-2011 08:35 AM in reply to: cmathewson

Since it is taking you to the PGP file I would suggest re-initializing the PGP file (setvar "re-init" 16). Otherwise the only thing I could think of is verifying that your PGP is using the same formatting.

 

If you have your PGP file from the previous version you can try to replace that one out with it as well.

Active Contributor
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎11-01-2004
Message 3 of 6 (1,687 Views)

Re: Keyboard shortcuts not what's in acad.pgp

04-22-2011 08:51 AM in reply to: cmathewson

I tried using REINIT a few times, but it doesn't change anything.

 

After getting fed up with 2012, I went back to 2011, and it's doing the same thing. This leads me to believe that something got fudged up when 2012 tried to import the settings and PGP file during installation. But I have no idea what, and therefore no idea how to fix it.

*Expert Elite*
Keith.Brown
Posts: 952
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Message 4 of 6 (1,673 Views)

Re: Keyboard shortcuts not what's in acad.pgp

04-24-2011 07:22 PM in reply to: cmathewson

I have found that you should never ever ever ever ever import settings when doing a install.  And in case you didnt quite understand that. NEVER import settings when doing an install.  I believe I read a post a while back where someone from autodesk chimed in and said it was strongly recommended that you don't import settings when doing an install of MEP.  It always causes more problems than what it is worth.

 

Oh yea.....I almost forgot to mention that you should never import settings when installing autocad mep.

 

I hope this helps.


Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
Valued Contributor
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎03-14-2005
Message 5 of 6 (1,493 Views)

Re: Keyboard shortcuts not what's in acad.pgp

08-08-2011 01:15 PM in reply to: Keith.Brown

Hello,

 

Was this ever resolved? I am having very similar results with my alias execution.

 

Thanks,

Bill

 

Windows 7 Pro SP1, HP Z400 w/Dual ZR24w Monitors, 12G Ram, AutoCAD MEP 2012
Valued Contributor
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎03-14-2005
Message 6 of 6 (1,474 Views)

Re: Keyboard shortcuts not what's in acad.pgp

08-11-2011 02:53 PM in reply to: TheRuinner13

My CAD Manager had me unload our custom Autolisp. That got my laiases working.

Windows 7 Pro SP1, HP Z400 w/Dual ZR24w Monitors, 12G Ram, AutoCAD MEP 2012

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community