AutoCAD MEP General

Reply
Active Member
AndreiM-86
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-10-2010
Message 1 of 3 (589 Views)

Associating Conduit Size(Diameter) with Wire

589 Views, 2 Replies
08-09-2011 11:56 AM

Is there a way to also assiciate a conduit size with the "smart" wires created within Autocad MEP 2012?

Employee
martin.schmid
Posts: 1,297
Registered: ‎11-16-2005
Message 2 of 3 (542 Views)

Re: Associating Conduit Size(Diameter) with Wire

08-17-2011 11:56 PM in reply to: AndreiM-86

Sure... add a property to a property set that applies to wires... see linked video:http://screencast.com/t/wIbes44s69F

 

Of course, you can then format units (i.e., inches), create/modify an appropriate tag, etc...

 



Martin Schmid, P.E.
Product Manager - Revit MEP
Architecture, Engineering, and Construction
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
sbrennan85
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-15-2009
Message 3 of 3 (369 Views)

Re: Associating Conduit Size(Diameter) with Wire

02-14-2013 09:03 AM in reply to: martin.schmid

Martin,

 

I realize this post is 1.5 years old, but I did a search for Conduit Wire and this was one of the results.  While creating that tag is all fine and dandy, it's work that should be part of the base MEP installation. Wire goes inside of the conduit. There are fill capacities for conduit that are based on the cross-sectional area of a wire.

 

I work for an electrical contractor, and we like to show conduit WITH wire. This is really hard to do with AutoCAD MEP since the two systems are separate. We have to keep drawing lines and inserting blocks for junction boxes and wire ticks because ACAD MEPs Wire & Conduit just doesn't cut it for us.  It's really frusturating.

 

And please don't link me to suggest the feature, as I have already done that this morning.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community