AutoCAD MEP General

Reply
Valued Mentor
DuncanBrannan82
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎02-11-2007
Message 1 of 11 (615 Views)
Accepted Solution

Are there still issues with AutoCAD MEP and AutoCAD on the same machine?

615 Views, 10 Replies
04-29-2013 02:29 AM

Hi,

 

I seem to recall in 2013 versions of AutoCAD MEP and AutoCAD, there were issues installing both products on the same machine. Is this still the case with 2014?

 

From personal experience, i had a nightmare trying to remove them both from a test machine because the two products were somewhat integrated in 2013 where as 2012 and earlier they were seperate.

 

Can anyone confirm this please :smileyhappy:

 

Regards,

 

Duncan

Duncan Brannan

If my post was helpful to you, please could you give "Kudos" and/or mark the "Accept as Solution" button(s) below. Thanks in Advance!
*Expert Elite*
Keith.Brown
Posts: 1,074
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Message 2 of 11 (599 Views)

Re: Are there still issues with AutoCAD MEP and AutoCAD on the same machine?

04-29-2013 06:39 AM in reply to: DuncanBrannan82

When you install Autocad MEP you automatically get Autocad and Autocad Architecture installed.  It is the nature of the program.  Once MEP is installed there is no need to install Autocad as it is already 100% fully functional for Autocad, Autocad Architecture and Autocad MEP.  If you installed Autocad after MEP (totally unnecessary for reasons listed previously) and then tried to uninstall Autocad you are surely asking for problems as from 2013 on they share common resources and folder structure.  This was not the case prior to 2013.  They did not share common resources or a folder structure.  Autocad MEP however still contained Autocad and Autocad Architecture however.

 

I am a little confused as to why you would install both Autocad and Autocad MEP?

 

 

 

 


Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate. Thank you!
Valued Mentor
DuncanBrannan82
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎02-11-2007
Message 3 of 11 (595 Views)

Re: Are there still issues with AutoCAD MEP and AutoCAD on the same machine?

04-29-2013 06:56 AM in reply to: DuncanBrannan82

Keith,

 

I typically wouldnt install them on the same machine, however i cannot stop "IT" from doing so as they would not understand the issues. You can communicate till your blue in the face but there is always that chance that someone accidently installs the two together, then try to uninstall one of them in the future only to find issues when doing so.

 

I learn't the hard way during the release of 2013 products as i have a test machine with all our Autodesk products on... little did i know Autodesk had done the behind the scenes integration of shared common resources until i tried to remove one of them which totally corrupted the other. For me, i had AutoCAD 2013, Structural Detailer and MEP all installed on same machine... nightmare trying to get AutoCAD 2013 back on when id uninstalled it for package testing.

 

Thanks for confirming that the issue remains regarding the shared common resources, Really appreciated.

 

Regards,

Duncan Brannan

If my post was helpful to you, please could you give "Kudos" and/or mark the "Accept as Solution" button(s) below. Thanks in Advance!
Employee
BillGlennie
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 11 (579 Views)

Re: Are there still issues with AutoCAD MEP and AutoCAD on the same machine?

04-29-2013 12:22 PM in reply to: DuncanBrannan82

There should be no issues when installing both AutoCAD 2014 and AutoCAD MEP 2014 on the same system.  These are more tightly integrated starting with the 2013 release, and many other AutoCAD-based programs are now similarly handled in the 2014 release.  This change allows multiple products to work off of a single copy of AutoCAD, which saves disk space initially and reduces install time.  There have been some minor problems with installing service packs and object enablers, but these are the only issues due to the integration that we are aware of at this time. 

 

Problems can occur when uninstalling one product, if the step of manually removing "no longer needed" files is taken.  Prior to 2013, there would be multiple copies of most AutoCAD component files, so deleting one copy would not affect another product.  We do test many different side-by-side combinations of products, including lots of uninstall operations.  There should be no problem when using the automatic uninstall process, which includes counters to allow for other products that are using the same shared files - a file still in use will not be removed. 

 

Please let me know the details if you run into any problems with the integration of AutoCAD and vertical products.  Because these are shipped in several suites, we appreciate knowing when there is a concern.

 

Thanks,  Bill



Bill Glennie
AutoCAD Architecture and MEP Team
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Mentor
DuncanBrannan82
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎02-11-2007
Message 5 of 11 (566 Views)

Re: Are there still issues with AutoCAD MEP and AutoCAD on the same machine?

04-29-2013 03:38 PM in reply to: DuncanBrannan82

Hi Bill,

 

Sometimes we have issues with Autodesk products that require a reinstall, removal or clean uninstall. This is where it can become problematic as some people know how to do this and some dont. Relying on ARP (Add, Remove Programs) is not ideal because it can leave files behind which make it hard to reinstall products.

 

Some IT guys will either troubleshoot the issue, try to uninstall and reinstall or in extreme cases they will rebuild machines.

 

If i come across anything i will let you know. So far so good though (Yet to try MEP 2014)

 

Would you be aware of any issues with the Suite Workflows add on though the Building Design Suite? I ask because we had access to these in Revit 2013, however, since installing Showcase 2013 they seem to have disappeard on the Application Menu in Revit 2013, even though they still appear in Civil 3D 2013. Not sure how to get them back?

 

I've tried a reinstall of them, repair etc however i havent had much luck. How is this tool intergrated with the products and how can i potentially add it back? I'm a bit stuck if im honest...

 

Regards,

 

Duncan

Duncan Brannan

If my post was helpful to you, please could you give "Kudos" and/or mark the "Accept as Solution" button(s) below. Thanks in Advance!
Valued Mentor
kwizats_haderack
Posts: 273
Registered: ‎02-17-2009
Message 6 of 11 (524 Views)

Re: Are there still issues with AutoCAD MEP and AutoCAD on the same machine?

05-04-2013 03:55 PM in reply to: DuncanBrannan82

Hi,

to be sure that your Autodesk software are properly uninstalledsimply go to the Autodesk site and download the free uninstaller made available and developed by Autodesk.

Bien cordialement / Best regards

----------------------------------------------------

Erwan ( FRENCH AUTOCAD M.E.P CAD/BIM MANAGER )
Valued Mentor
DuncanBrannan82
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎02-11-2007
Message 7 of 11 (521 Views)

Re: Are there still issues with AutoCAD MEP and AutoCAD on the same machine?

05-04-2013 04:03 PM in reply to: DuncanBrannan82
Thanks for you response! Could you please send the link?
Duncan Brannan

If my post was helpful to you, please could you give "Kudos" and/or mark the "Accept as Solution" button(s) below. Thanks in Advance!
Valued Mentor
kwizats_haderack
Posts: 273
Registered: ‎02-17-2009
Message 8 of 11 (514 Views)

Re: Are there still issues with AutoCAD MEP and AutoCAD on the same machine?

05-05-2013 05:30 AM in reply to: DuncanBrannan82

UNINSTALLER

it's a pleasure.

Bien cordialement / Best regards

----------------------------------------------------

Erwan ( FRENCH AUTOCAD M.E.P CAD/BIM MANAGER )
Employee
BillGlennie
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 11 (511 Views)

Re: Are there still issues with AutoCAD MEP and AutoCAD on the same machine?

05-05-2013 05:41 AM in reply to: kwizats_haderack

The Autodesk Uninstall Tool is included by default with AutoCAD 2014-based applications.  But it works with earlier releases as well.  So if you've installed AME 2014, it should already be present. 

 

Hope this helps,  Bill



Bill Glennie
AutoCAD Architecture and MEP Team
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Mentor
DuncanBrannan82
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎02-11-2007
Message 10 of 11 (482 Views)

Re: Are there still issues with AutoCAD MEP and AutoCAD on the same machine?

05-07-2013 02:25 AM in reply to: DuncanBrannan82

Hi Bill,

 

Which tool are you referring to?


Regards,

 

Duncan

Duncan Brannan

If my post was helpful to you, please could you give "Kudos" and/or mark the "Accept as Solution" button(s) below. Thanks in Advance!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community