AutoCAD MEP General

Reply
Valued Contributor
mjmpe
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎02-14-2011
Message 1 of 3 (242 Views)

AUTOCAD MEP

242 Views, 2 Replies
10-16-2013 08:39 AM

I OPENED MY AUTOCAD MEP THIS MORNING AND IN THE LOWER RIGHT CORNER OF THE SCREEN THERE WAS A BOX THAT CAME UP TELLING ME THAT MY CATALOG NEEDED TO BE UPDATED SO I CLICKED ON THAT AND RAN IT, NOT KNOWING THAT IT WAS GOING TO TAKE ALL DAY TO UPDATE, SO I STOPPED IT IN MID-STREAM (THINKING I COULD CONTINUE IT LATER) NOW IT WON'T LET ME OPEN UP THE AUTOCAD MEP. WHAT DO I NEED TO DO TO FIX THIS.

 

PLEASE HELP CAN'T WORK!!

*Expert Elite*
nestly2
Posts: 1,285
Registered: ‎04-22-2013
Message 2 of 3 (235 Views)

Re: AUTOCAD MEP

10-16-2013 09:03 AM in reply to: mjmpe

Can you describe what happened when you cancelled the catalog regen, Did AMEP lockup / crash /  exit back to Windows?   Assuming AMEP is closed and not running, what error do you get when trying to restart AMEP?

 

If you haven't customized AMEP much, perhaps resetting AMEP back to factory settings is an option.  Start > Autodesk > AutoCAD MEP xxxx > Reset Settings to Default

*Expert Elite*
Keith.Brown
Posts: 1,074
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Message 3 of 3 (220 Views)

Re: AUTOCAD MEP

10-16-2013 12:05 PM in reply to: mjmpe

If all you were doing was running a catalog regen when you canceled the program then what is wrong is that your catalog is hosed.  To regenerate it you are going to have to use the stand along program  AecbCatalogEditor.exe found at C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2014\MEP

 

Start that program up and then navigate to the catalog that did not regen correctly.  Once that catalog is open use the Tools->regenerate catalog menu item on the toolbar.  This should regenerate your catalogs outside of Autocad MEP.  Once you catalog is regenerated Autocad should start.

 

This will only happen if you have one and only one catalog for a specific domain.  Since it cannot find a catalog then Autocad MEP will not start.

 

This is my best guess at least.


Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate. Thank you!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community