AutoCAD MEP General

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-17-2009
Message 1 of 7 (785 Views)
Accepted Solution

AMEP 2013, What the....? Tutorial on setup?

785 Views, 6 Replies
06-19-2012 09:34 AM

I recently installed AMEP 2013, migrated my settings from AMEP 2012, now my duct sizes are all fractions. 

 

Also, how can I work in 2013 and save so that others in my office that are working in 2012 can work in this dwg file as well?

 

Way to go Autodesk, another fine mess you got us in.

*Expert Elite*
Keith.Brown
Posts: 947
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Message 2 of 7 (783 Views)

Re: AMEP 2013, What the....? Tutorial on setup?

06-19-2012 09:40 AM in reply to: jsd1

When installing a new version of MEP you should NEVER migrate settings on install.  Not sure if you did this or not but it is definately a No No.  It just doesnt work right.  It has been mentioned numerous times on this forum.

 

Additionally, You cannot work in a drawing in Autocad MEP 2013 and also have users work in 2012 in the same drawing.  2013 is a file format change which means it is not backwards compatible.  Again, it has been mentioned several times on this forum.  As a rule of thumb, every 3 years is a format change and drawings are not backwards compatible on file format changes.  You can open previous versions in the new versions but once you save it you can no longer open the file in a previous version.


Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-17-2009
Message 3 of 7 (779 Views)

Re: AMEP 2013, What the....? Tutorial on setup?

06-19-2012 09:48 AM in reply to: Keith.Brown

Ok, so what is my best option, uninstall and reinstall without migration?

 

When I installed 2013, it effected my 2012 so bad that it took me a couple of weeks to get back to working correctly. 

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Keith.Brown
Posts: 947
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Message 4 of 7 (775 Views)

Re: AMEP 2013, What the....? Tutorial on setup?

06-19-2012 10:07 AM in reply to: jsd1

Just curious on how it effected 2012.  they are installed in different directories and shouldnt overlap in anyway other than associating dwg's with 2013 instead of 2012

 

As far as I am concerned your best option is to reinstall.  Maybe someone else might have a better option but in my opinion it would be best to start with a clean slate.  You should also do a clean uninstall.  Directions can be found using google if you search for autodesk clean uninstall.


Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-17-2009
Message 5 of 7 (773 Views)

Re: AMEP 2013, What the....? Tutorial on setup?

06-19-2012 10:14 AM in reply to: Keith.Brown

The installation jacked up my profile, changed settings, and support paths.  I don't know why it did that, I do realize it is in a different directory, but it did it anyway.  It also fixed a few things, like piping connections. 

 

Anyways, looks like we might be putting ACAD MEP 2013 on the back burner for a few years.  Maybe until Autodesk screws something else up.

 

Thanks for your help.

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 6 of 7 (695 Views)

Re: AMEP 2013, What the....? Tutorial on setup?

07-09-2012 10:56 AM in reply to: jsd1

Worst thing about this 2013 is that it is NOT backwards compatible....so everyone you share drawings with has to be on 2013 or your drawings will be useless to them!

Valued Mentor
Posts: 2,246
Registered: ‎11-18-2003
Message 7 of 7 (590 Views)

Re: AMEP 2013, What the....? Tutorial on setup?

09-28-2012 05:57 AM in reply to: debbie1961

Also, you should never try importing a past Profile into a new version... I have only done this a few times but only on an as need basis.

For example, I had a user who has his own tool bars (yes tool bars)... when we migrated to 2013, I couldn't find his tool bars anywere. Yet I know he had them, because I saw them... they were in our User.cuix file which we designate as the Main Customization file. So I bit the bullet and loaded his 2012 profile into 2013... sure enough his tool bars came up. I checked again and found the user's User.cuix file was in a different location then what our standard is...

Then I dumped the 2012 profile and reloaded the 2013... then I was able to pull his tool bars in on the CUI Editor Transfer tab.

 

So far I like what I see in 2013... just hope the SP1 turns out to be good.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community