Community
AutoCAD MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tagging elevation/section/detail views

11 REPLIES 11
SOLVED
Message 1 of 12
cuervogold
1660 Views, 11 Replies

Tagging elevation/section/detail views

I'm fairly new to AMEP, and I'm on the documentation end of my modeled project. I would like to tag an elevation/section/detail view created through AMEP's elevation/section/detail tools, but the tagging tool, e.g. "Pipe Tag", will not recognize a pipe in any of the respective views. Am I approaching this all wrong? Can such a view created in AMEP be tagged? What should I change?

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
Keith.Brown
in reply to: cuervogold

You cannot "tag" a section/elevation view as the resulting object is no longer a pipe.  What you can do however is jump through a couple hoops and create a "live" section in an Xref drawing.  This is the steps that I take.

1. Inside a blank drawing xref in the drawing in which you want to create a section.

2. Draw a bounding polygon around the area that you want to create a section in.

3. Using the XCLIP command clip out all geometry outside of the bounding box.

4. Now in the XREF drawing change your view to a Front or Side view.

5. You now have a section of your drawing that you can tag because your pipe is still considered a pipe object.

Note:  You will need to create a tag that is perpindicular to the screen and will display in a top, left, or right view.

Message 3 of 12
cuervogold
in reply to: Keith.Brown