Community
AutoCAD MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

System requirements dilema

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
p.halczak
489 Views, 4 Replies

System requirements dilema

Hello people

I am new to autocad and about to purchase computer for it. Basically I am student at the moment so I suppose for the first few years I will not be even able to create any sophisticated drawings.

When I read the system requirements for the product, they seem to be pretty low. I was expecting a figures like 32gb RAM etc, therefore I gave up laptop idea and decided to full size due to much better pefromance for lower price. According to autodesk, for my MEP I would need following:

8GB RAM

Multicore processor (best affordble)

Directx 9.0 compatible graphic card or dx11 for advanced 3d modelling

What I am planning to use the suite for: there will be some 3d modelling for mechanical services in building, ducting ipework, plant room models (not very in detail, mainly to present the components positions such a boilers, pumps etc)
; plenty of 2d work..well almost every project will be modelled in 3d, but is this advanced 3d modelling? I would not think so...for me advanced is modelling the moving object with shading, light reflections etc...something that games people would do, am I right ?

8gb ram, is it really enough? if so, I could end up with mobile machine, they are offered with even 16gb. Is it worth to invest in more than 8gb for decent performance of equipment and software for next few years? If I go for stationary workstation, should I invest in 24, 32gb ram or rather focus on more powerful processor and 16(8) gb ram?