AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Keith.Brown
Posts: 1,101
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Message 1 of 5 (567 Views)
Accepted Solution

Parametric Multi-View Part question

567 Views, 4 Replies
06-19-2010 10:47 AM

Does anyone know if it is possible to constrain a point on one plane to a point on another plane using the coincident constraint?  I have created a multi-view part template but when I flex my part, the geometry of the reference plane does not move correctly with the extrusion that it references.  I am trying to create a template for fan-powered boxes, but until I can figure this out, I am dead in the water.

 

I have the inlet and the outlet geometry attached to the main box extrusion thru 2 reference planes.  A front and a rear.  When the part flexes,  I need a point on the front and the rear reference plane to be constrained to a point on the extrusion.  Right now, they all three kind of flex their own seperate way.  I have no clue on how to constrain the geometry on the reference planes to a point on the plane being referenced.  Any suggestions would be appreciated. 


Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate. Thank you!
Contributor
Leon-Biohazard
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-21-2010
Message 2 of 5 (545 Views)

Re: Parametric Multi-View Part question

06-21-2010 10:40 PM in reply to: Keith.Brown

you can't add constraints between two workplanes, while you can reference a point to a new workplane from an existing one.

*Expert Elite*
Keith.Brown
Posts: 1,101
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Message 3 of 5 (531 Views)

Re: Parametric Multi-View Part question

06-23-2010 05:35 AM in reply to: Leon-Biohazard

Something is definately wrong then.  It is impossible to make a 3d part with connects on more than one side that are also not centered on the part without this ability.  The only thing that I can think that I did wrong was that instead of using the xy, xz, and yz planes, i used top, left and right.  I will remake the part using the standard three planes and see if that will fix the problem. 


Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate. Thank you!
New Member
trentbest
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-03-2011
Message 4 of 5 (347 Views)

Re: Parametric Multi-View Part question

01-03-2011 09:18 AM in reply to: Keith.Brown

I know this is a while since you reportedly had this problem, but I thought I'd throw out a suggestion... From what I'm understanding, you want a reference plane, not a front or back plane.  You can name the reference plane front or back, or anything you want, but in this way, when the geometry changes, the plane moves with the geometry.  Thus, you should be able to get a point to be located in the correct spot, on the geometry as you want it.  Hope this helps.

Product Support
Joshua.Benoist
Posts: 517
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 5 of 5 (325 Views)

Re: Parametric Multi-View Part question

01-04-2011 10:34 AM in reply to: trentbest

Actually, you don't need to use a constraint or even a geometry reference plane.  The "reference Plane" moves the plane when some existing geometry moves, but it does not add a point to the reference plane.  You mentioned having a point on an existing plane.  You also mentioned another plane where you will need an equivalent point.  Sounds like you want a POINT that moves on a second plane when another point moves, not another PLANE that moves with a point.  Subtle difference. 

 

On the left is the docked panel, with the Content Builder tree of menu items.  In the tree you see Part Configuration, Modeling, Connections, and Size Parameters.  Expand on "Modeling" and "Work Planes."

 

For example sake, let's say your existing point is on the Top plane.  Maybe the other plane is an "Offset" type, meaning it is offset from the Top plane by some distance.  You want to create a point on the Offset plane that matches the same coordinate.  Ie: If the point on the Top plane moves, the equivalent point on the Offset plane moves with it.

 

What you want to create is a "Point Reference," on the Offset plane.  In the tree, select your "OFFSET" plane and right-click > Add Geometry > click "Point Reference."  The command line prompts you for a point.  Select the point on the Top plane.  It adds a green colored point to the Offset plane.  The green point will move when a dimension or parameter moves the existing point on the top plane.

 

Hope this helps.

 



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community