AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jmcfaddn
Posts: 399
Registered: ‎12-01-2003
Message 1 of 7 (2,765 Views)

How to hatch a 3d solid face?

2765 Views, 6 Replies
07-07-2003 11:25 PM
Does anyone know how to hatch a 3d solid face that will work as a mvpart as well? We like our mechanical equipment to be hatched so that it stands out when plotting. Right now I can only create mvparts that only show the outlines of the equipment. How do I add hatching to the mvpart so that it shows up in the plan view only?
*[Autodesk], Lars-Ake Johansson
Message 2 of 7 (2,765 Views)

Re: How to hatch a 3d solid face?

07-10-2003 11:57 PM in reply to: jmcfaddn
Hi Jody,

 

You could add the hatch to the MvPart.

 

1. Open the drawing containng the blocks for the
MvPart

2. Insert the top block (the block that ends with '
Top')

3. Note the insertion point of the block (draw a
line from the insertion point, ins)

3. Explode it

4. Add the hatch to the block

5. Block it and choose the same name as it had
before, the insertion point from step 3 and choose to redefine the
block

6. Save - Close the drawing

 

When you insert the part not the plan view should
containg you hatch but the rest of the view should remain
unchanged.

 

Hope this helps

 

Lars-Ake

 


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Does
anyone know how to hatch a 3d solid face that will work as a mvpart as well?
We like our mechanical equipment to be hatched so that it stands out when
plotting. Right now I can only create mvparts that only show the outlines of
the equipment. How do I add hatching to the mvpart so that it shows up in the
plan view only?
Distinguished Contributor
jmcfaddn
Posts: 399
Registered: ‎12-01-2003
Message 3 of 7 (2,765 Views)

Re:

07-11-2003 01:26 AM in reply to: jmcfaddn
I go into the drawing that contains my original blocks. This is the file where I also created the the Mvparts.
I do not see any _top blocks referring to the Mvpart to edit???
*[Autodesk], Lars-Ake Johansson
Message 4 of 7 (2,765 Views)

Re:

07-11-2003 03:05 AM in reply to: jmcfaddn
Hi,

 

No, not the original drawing.

You should look in the drawing that was created
from Content Builder when you made the part. Look in:

size=2> C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application
Data\Autodesk\Autodesk Building Systems 2004\R16.0\enu\Aecb Catalogs 4\MvParts
US Imperial\................

 

 

Lars-Ake Johansson

 



style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">I
go into the drawing that contains my original blocks. This is the file where I
also created the the Mvparts.
I do not see any _top blocks referring to
the Mvpart to edit???
*[Autodesk], Peter Terwilliger
Message 5 of 7 (2,765 Views)

Re:

07-11-2003 05:44 AM in reply to: jmcfaddn
Jody -

 

You should use a working drawing when you first
create MvParts.  That drawing should be saved somewhere else besides inside
the catalog file structure - a great place is in the "My Documents"
folder.  As we discussed before, Content Builder then takes the block
definitions (not the graphics) and your UI inputs and creates a new dwg along
with a corresponding xml and bmp file in the appropriate catalog folder. 
You can find more information on creating block based parts starting on Page 721
of your concepts guide.  Additionally, you should pay attention to Page 748
when you go to modify a MvPart - you need to actually modify the dwg in the
catalog folder instead of your working drawing.

 

You have a top based block - it is inside the new
dwg source drawing.  Open that drawing, navigate to a clear space, insert
the top block, hatch it, then save it with the same insertion point as all the
other blocks (yes you can specify this point with the mouse).  Save - you
are done.

 

I hope this helps


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
go into the drawing that contains my original blocks. This is the file where I
also created the the Mvparts.
I do not see any _top blocks referring to
the Mvpart to edit???
Distinguished Contributor
jmcfaddn
Posts: 399
Registered: ‎12-01-2003
Message 6 of 7 (2,765 Views)

Re:

07-15-2003 01:20 AM in reply to: jmcfaddn
I just finished trying to modify the top block as in your instructions above stated. Bottom line, not only did it not work but it screwed up all my other parts within the same folder.
The steps I completed are as follows: I enter the mvpart drawing, insert the top block, explode the entire top block, add my hatch, select the newly created VAV box and change the color and line type to BYBLOCK, change the units to INCHES, recreate the top block with the same insertion point, reinsert the block into the mvpart drawing, the new block replaces the old top block within the drawing, I then save the drawing. I go into my floor plan drawing, regenerate the catalog just to be safe. I then try to enter the newly modified VAV box, I select my insertion point within the drawing, the compass becomes visible but no Mvpart comes into the drawing after hitting the enter key. I try and insert different sized VAV boxes located within the same folder that have yet to be modified with the top hatch. They come in but now the boxes come in on the wrong layer. The designated layer key within the content builder states a key of VAV. The boxes are now coming in on layer M-Eqmp????? So what is the deal?
Valued Contributor
bil-with-one-L
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎08-04-2003
Message 7 of 7 (2,765 Views)

Re:

07-15-2003 06:31 AM in reply to: jmcfaddn
Jody... you are the best. You seem to always be the first one to try something and when it fails to work you always bring it up in this forum.. I have learned so much from watching your posts. Thanks for that. Sorry that I'm not writing to help.. i'm just writing to make sure that you realize how important your struggles and effort are to folks like me.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.