AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
tkendrick
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎11-23-2011
Message 1 of 3 (345 Views)

EPD and drawing revisions

345 Views, 2 Replies
01-23-2012 07:52 AM

How do you handle creating drawing revisions using either Save As or file copy to maintain a version history of your drawings.

 

Example: I have a project with multiple files for multiple floors of the same building, all of which reference 1 EPD for the building. I am at the point where the submittals are final and I want to create an archival set of files and setup a new copy of files to finalize the drawings. This way as revisions are made I don't have to re-draw things from the past if the customer decides to go back a version.

 

Since the EPD doesn't like being re-pathed without loosing some connections, how does copying or Save As affect the EPD?

Is there any way to do what I described above for maintaining old versions?

Is file copy or Save As the ideal process, or is there a different method suggested?

Would using eTransmit be a solution to maintaining EPD connections and creating an archive/revision set?

----
Use this link to tell Autodesk about features you need:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794
Employee
martin.schmid
Posts: 1,297
Registered: ‎11-16-2005
Message 2 of 3 (332 Views)

Re: EPD and drawing revisions

01-24-2012 07:42 AM in reply to: tkendrick

Assuming your path to the EPD is relative, you can simply copy the existing file structure to create a parallel independet 'version'.

 



Martin Schmid, P.E.
Product Manager - Revit MEP
Architecture, Engineering, and Construction
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
tkendrick
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎11-23-2011
Message 3 of 3 (322 Views)

Re: EPD and drawing revisions

01-25-2012 10:47 AM in reply to: martin.schmid

I did as suggested, and here is what I found. For safety I created a copy of the EPD in use.

 

When I opened the new version, I received the warning about a file could not be located. Even though the EPD path to the drawing is relative. The EPD must also store the path back to the drawing. So my new set is a different path than the old. I chose not to remove from DB at that time. Mainly because it's not clear what you are removing, the drawing you are trying to open or the old path to the old drawing (the tooltip balloon didn't show the complete path). By not removing the old file I ended up with duplicate data in the EPD, which I figured out from the circuit loads.

 

I have the EPD stored separate to my drawing files, and the way my file structure works, new versions of drawings have the same relative path out to the EPD.

 

So it seems the process should go as follows:

Make copies of the drawing files

Make a copy of the EPD to use for the old version (any copies of the EPD would need to be renamed for use in prior versions)

When opening the new versions Chose to Remove the data from the EPD

 

As I write, it occurs to me that storing the EPD in the same folder at the drawings themselves might solve this copy process.

----
Use this link to tell Autodesk about features you need:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community