AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
balddude
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-30-2012
Message 1 of 4 (217 Views)

Device Types

217 Views, 3 Replies
08-30-2012 06:14 AM

Why can't I edit the Device Types (under Style Manager -> Mulit-Purpose Objects -> Classification Definition)? 

 

What I want to do is have all of my connections to mechanical equipment under it's own Device Type so that I can schedule it separate from other disconnects, junction boxes, etc. I have made them their own Device Styles, but when I use a general disconnect for a connection to an elevator, this disconnect will also show up on my schedule with the mechanical equipment.

 

I know that I can make my own device types under a different definition, but I'm thinking I'm missing something in the native software that would allow me to do this.

*Expert Elite*
Keith.Brown
Posts: 1,101
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Message 2 of 4 (216 Views)

Re: Device Types

08-30-2012 06:42 AM in reply to: balddude

Those are hard coded and cannot be changed.  The same applies to MvPart Type, Pipe Type, PipeFitting Type, Duct Type, DuctFitting Type.  Autocad MEP uses those classifications to internal methods and thus changing them could have very undesirable results.  Your only option is to assign them a new classification with your desired list.


Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate. Thank you!
Active Member
balddude
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-30-2012
Message 3 of 4 (209 Views)

Re: Device Types

08-30-2012 08:11 AM in reply to: balddude

Any suggestions as to how to do what I'm trying to do without reinventing the wheel?

*Expert Elite*
Keith.Brown
Posts: 1,101
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Message 4 of 4 (205 Views)

Re: Device Types

08-30-2012 08:19 AM in reply to: balddude

You need to do one of a couple things.

 

1.  Create a new classification with your desired list and classify your schedules with that list

2.  Instead of selecting your entire drawing when creating the schedule only select the objects you want scheduled.

3.  Filter your schedules by layers.  This would mean that your disconnects would need to be on seperate layers from the ones you don't want in the schedule.  Using the property palette you can filter your schedule by layers.

 

Beyond that I am not quite sure what to do.


Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate. Thank you!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community