AutoCAD MEP General Discussion

Reply
New Member
Prosound02
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-01-2010
Message 1 of 7 (3,048 Views)

Classic Workspace

3048 Views, 6 Replies
04-01-2010 12:29 PM
I just got AutoCAD MEP 2010, I was using AutoCAD Electrical 2009 before. Im trying to change my workspace in 2010 to the classic workspace. But I cant figure it out.
Active Member
Joshua_Benoist_PE
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-30-2010
Message 2 of 7 (3,048 Views)

Re: Classic Workspace

04-02-2010 05:31 AM in reply to: Prosound02
There is no classic workspace in AutoCAD MEP. At installation, the configure button takes you to the screen where you can select to install Express Tools. The very next screen after clicking Next, is the Content Pack Configuration screen. Here is where you can select the AutoCAD Architecture content pack to install. You can also select the Classic AutoCAD content pack to install. Always use the desktop icon to switch profiles. Finish the installation, and there will be additional desktop icons. One desktop icon says "AutoCAD" and nothing else. That will convert MEP into classic AutoCAD.

The next tidbit is for the benefit of everyone reading this, and goes beyond the original question. The desktop icons do more than switch profiles. They also change the template and content paths. The template used in AutoCAD Architecture is different from the MEP template. The US Imperial template is different from the US Metric, or Global Metric templates...and there are a bunch of country specific templates too, but they do not install by default. Once you click the desktop icon, it also changes the file paths to the appropriate content folders. Global Metric content is a different shape than US Imperial, so the Tool Palettes and other stuff needs to point to different file folders. The Styles are different, and need their paths swapped. In some cases, the language or terminology used, is changed. Changing profiles from the Options menu, does not change out the currently open drawing and thus the template that it is based upon. That open drawing already contains the styles, supporting content, settings, displays, etc. Changing the template used for drawing1.dwg, can only be done from the desktop icon before launching the program into drawing1.dwg. Many of you will know this already, and many will not. Hope this helps.

Joshua Benoist, PE
Autodesk Product Support
Active Member
Joshua_Benoist_PE
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-30-2010
Message 3 of 7 (3,048 Views)

Re: Classic Workspace

04-02-2010 05:46 AM in reply to: Prosound02
Admittedly, I got side tracked from the original question in my post above. Circling around. To answer the original question, the Classic AutoCAD desktop icon opens up MEP as Classic AutoCAD. In there you will be able to use the "Classic" workspace that you are familiar with. It is not available inside any of the AutoCAD MEP or Architecture configurations.
Hope this clarifies.
Joshua
*Expert Elite*
Keith.Brown
Posts: 1,092
Registered: ‎03-13-2008
Message 4 of 7 (3,048 Views)

Re: Classic Workspace

04-05-2010 09:29 AM in reply to: Prosound02
I guess I must ask the question, how is using the different startup icons different than switching the profile? I can understand that it is different than switching the workspace but see no difference between using a different startup icon and using Options to switch your profile. The only thing that I can see that the desktop icons do is start the program with a different profile. When you install the Architecture content or the Autocad Content with MEP it adds these profiles. You can then switch between profiles without closing out the program and restarting. Am I missing something?

Keith Brown AutoCAD MEP BLOG | RSS Feed
AutoCAD MEP 2014 | Revit 2014 | EastCoast CAD/CAM V6.1 | Visual Studio 2013
────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate. Thank you!
New Member
purple2001roadking
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-10-2011
Message 5 of 7 (2,478 Views)

Re: Classic Workspace

05-10-2011 08:55 AM in reply to: Prosound02

I'm currently using MEP 2011.  How can I get the classic autocad workspace instead of the ribbons?  Is this possible or is it only available in regular Autocad?

Active Member
Dallaskt
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-07-2010
Message 6 of 7 (2,474 Views)

Re: Classic Workspace

05-10-2011 02:42 PM in reply to: purple2001roadking

1) Open a blank drawing.

 

2) Type "Menuload"

 

3) Browse > C:\Users\*?????*\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\MEP 2011\enu\Support

    * = a directory with a company name, employee number, etc...that is unique to your machine.

 

 

4) I believe the file you are looking for is "acad.CUIX"

 

 

Give this a shot....

 

DT

 

 

Product Support
Joshua.Benoist
Posts: 517
Registered: ‎08-23-2006
Message 7 of 7 (2,443 Views)

Re: Classic Workspace

05-13-2011 01:15 PM in reply to: Keith.Brown

I'll answer KBrown's question first which leads into the second answer.

 

The desktop icon not only switches the profile, but launches the program into that profile.  This means that it switches the template.  Templates are everything in AutoCAD MEP.  Use the wrong one and run into all sorts of problems.  Ever try launching MEP, and switching profiles from the Options menu?  It will change the profile, but you have a drawing file open, which originated out of the first profile.  There is nothing in the program that will close that already open file for you.  You have to remember to close that file, and then start a new file using a template intended to be used by the new profile you just switched over to in the Options menu.  SO.  WE USE DESKTOP ICONS.  The desktop icons always guarantee that you are using a drawing file started from a template that matches the profile.  We would not want to use an Architectural template in MEP, or vice-versa, or a Core AutoCAD template.  Features break when you do that.  Our templates have settings that do not exist in the other templates.  Then those settings all have to be set right.  Think Part Routing Preferences and System Definitions.  We have other items in our template like blocks that support some styles (Ex. Rise-Drop Blocks), and layers that support some display components (Ex. Hidden Lines).  Then there are the Displays themselves.  All are required to draw duct and all other objects.  Features also break when you xref an MEP file into a Core AutoCAD file.  The Core AutoCAD file does not contain our displays needed to display our MEP objects properly, so colors change and pipe may go from 1-line to 2-line.

 

The second (original) question:  How to find and switch over to the Classic workspace.  That workspace is only found in Core AutoCAD.  When you first install AutoCAD MEP, there is a customization screen for Content Packs.  There is a content pack that allows us to add a desktop icon for Core AutoCAD.  This option is only available when you first install the program.  It is not available from the Add/Remove Programs > Add Features, after installation.  If you install this desktop icon, it is named "AutoCAD MEP As AutoCAD."  Use this desktop icon and it launches Core AutoCAD.  Once you have Core AutoCAD open, then you can use the Workspace selector to change over to the Classic workspace.  The Classic workspace does not work inside AutoCAD MEP or Architecture.  If you want toolbars in AutoCAD MEP, you can transfer them in using the CUI editor.  The last time Autodesk made toolbars was in 2009.  So you need to find the 2009 CUI files to transfer them over.  For your convenience, the AutoCAD MEP 2009 CUI files with toolbars are attached.  We do not have toolbars for new features introduced since 2009.  You can make buttons for them in the CUI editor.

 

To voice your thoughts on this, Please log feedback at: 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=1109794

 

Hope this helps.



Joshua Benoist, PE
Senior Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD MEP Category!

The AutoCAD MEP forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community