Community
AutoCAD MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Autocad MEP or Revit MEP, which to use and is one better than the other?

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
jjcrocco
4961 Views, 7 Replies

Autocad MEP or Revit MEP, which to use and is one better than the other?

I have two suites with both programs.  I have used Revit and learned it for the past 4 years, and have not done anything with AutocadMEP (MEP).  I am a PME engineer and Revit is a real pain to use efficiently.  The fittings and such with piping and mechanical is not good enough to use for shop drawings.  The drawing output in Revit is not very good either.  Is MEP easier or better than Revit in these regard?  Is there more content with MEP than there is with Revit?  We are wanting to train people on one of these two programs, and not sure really which is the best way to go.  Will Revit eventually overtake or replace MEP or viceversa?  Has anyone started with revit and switch to MEP, or viceversa?

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
lesdre
in reply to: jjcrocco

it all depend, i work with a plumbing company and so far Autocad MEP is what i have been using since we got into it. most of the stuff i had to customize for my company way of plumbing,still not a 100% yet. i had to build my own fittings and schedules. i used revit mep just for building fixture and fitting with a reseller for couple of weeks. plumbing wise i heard its more design orientated. for a simple residential house it takes me an hour to do.

Leslie
Message 3 of 8
Kayrondad
in reply to: lesdre